MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews A Question of Mercy by Elizabeth Cox

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Question of Mercy

A Novel

by Elizabeth Cox

A Question of Mercy by Elizabeth Cox X
A Question of Mercy by Elizabeth Cox
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Oct 2016, 224 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rory L. Aronsky
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A Question of Mercy grapples with the powerful bonds of love and family.

Authors leave little gifts for readers, which seem to turn up at the exact right moment. Perhaps a quote or passage from a favorite book that helps one get through a rough time, or an early work that one returns to after many years, or the discovery that an author has had a second career guiding other writers who are now waiting to be discovered.

The late, truly great Pat Conroy's gift was the latter. His editorship at the Story River Books imprint for the University of South Carolina Press gave other Southern writers a big boost up – writers such as Elizabeth Cox and her quietly powerful A Question of Mercy.

The novel opens in 1953 Goshen, North Carolina with a mystery. What happened to 17-year-old Jess Booker's stepbrother, Adam Finney, at the French Broad River when she was with him? Did he drown on his own, or did she help him so that he wouldn't have to be sent back to the barbaric state asylum, Cadwell Institution. This is a solemn, sad, achingly beautiful mystery. Like many gifted Southern writers, Cox worships at the altar of words. She knows the importance of their storytelling power, and not just in their meaning, but also in the way their sounds clearly announce their arrival and how pace can be set with them. Words set scenes in the reader's imagination, and the right few can paint a picture of utter devastation. Cox has many such scenes to offer. There are, for example, grim, disturbing details of Adam's "treatments" at Cadwell, including an electroshock therapy session from his point of view, and the pain and anguish within Jess's family over what to do about Adam, whose body and sexuality are clearly developing, while his mind remains a child's.

Jess's own anguish, after running away in panic to Lula, Alabama and a particular boarding house important to her late mother, carry their own sizable weight. These moments in particular, as well as the ones focusing on Jess's life with Adam, are filled with poetic descriptions and turns of phrase that strike the soft top of the heart and burrow into the deepest chambers. Language that we know and use every day feels brand new here. The words and their rhythms create wonder, and later the wonder turns sharply as the story unfolds and the pieces of the mystery come together.

I hope that the University of South Carolina Press continues to publish Story River Books so we can have more novels like A Question of Mercy.

Reviewed by Rory L. Aronsky

This review is from the A Question of Mercy. It first ran in the January 4, 2017 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Dredging in Swann
    A Dredging in Swann
    by Tim Garvin
    A Dredging in Swann, set in fictional Swann County, North Carolina, centers around fresh-out-of-the-...
  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.