MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews This Must Be the Place by Maggie O'Farrell

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

This Must Be the Place

A novel

by Maggie O'Farrell

This Must Be the Place by Maggie O'Farrell X
This Must Be the Place by Maggie O'Farrell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2016, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2017, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kate Braithwaite
Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


This portrait of a marriage's ups and downs is tender-hearted and fleshed out with believable characters.

Maggie O'Farrell's latest novel may be a multi-perspective and time-shifting narrative, but above all, it is a moving love story about the lives of a married couple, Dan and Claudette. When This Must Be The Place opens, Dan, albeit fondly, is quick to point out that his wife — and the mother of two of his children — is crazy. True or not, Claudette, who was once a famous movie star, now shuns the spotlight (see 'Beyond the Book'), insisting on living in a remote farmhouse in Ireland.

As happy as they appear to be, problems soon arise. Dan hears a voice from his past on the radio: the voice of a woman he once loved and for whose death he may have been responsible. When he decides to find out what happened to her and also reconnect with the children from his first marriage, everything changes. As O'Farrell moves from past to present and into the future lives of Dan and Claudette, an absorbing portrait of a relationship in crisis develops.

Never trite, never predictable and never shying away from the difficulties of life, love and loss, O'Farrell creates characters who are believable and sympathetic. Both Dan and Claudette have flaws that have brought them together but may also keep them apart.

Although the novel opens with chapters from Dan and then Claudette's perspective, other family and friends take up the role of storyteller and subsequent chapters are told from many different perspectives and different time periods. There is Dan's teenage daughter Phoebe, in 2010, struggling with the pressures of teenage body changes and peer pressure. There is her clever older brother Niall, in 1999, suffering from extremely painful eczema. There is Claudette's sister-in-law, in 2003, going to China to adopt a baby. At times the narrative also switches out of the straightforward prose form. Claudette's previous life and first marriage, for example, are illuminated through a series of illustrated entries from an auction catalogue. Her first husband's perspective is relayed in the form of an interview recording. Changing time frames and perspectives can sometimes make for a disconnected reading experience but in this case O'Farrell's choices enrich her story, bringing greater understanding of the motivations and concerns of her characters and adding layers of tension as the past is explained and the future unfolds.

This Must Be the Place certainly confirms, if it were ever needed, that O'Farrell is a highly accomplished novelist. Her dialogue is crisp and witty and her ability to give individual voices to so many narrators is to be greatly admired. While this is clearly a very clever novel, it is never consciously literary or contrived. The tone is light and the story sparkles with moments of great comedy: for example Claudette meets Dan while he is traveling around Ireland looking for the lost ashes of his dead grandfather, only to leave the urn by the roadside after helping her with a flat tire.

Tenderhearted and character-driven, This Must Be the Place is entertaining, thoughtful and wise. Because the fictional portraits seem so real, it is impossible not to become caught up in Dan and Claudette's lives and read eagerly – and anxiously - to see how their story will be resolved.

Reviewed by Kate Braithwaite

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in September 2016, and has been updated for the May 2017 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Reclusive Celebrities

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...
  • Book Jacket: The Truants
    The Truants
    by Kate Weinberg
    The Truants opens with Jess Walker, a first-year university student in Norfolk, England, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    A new American classic, and the first book to ever score a perfect 5-stars in BookBrowse's early reader program!
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Father of Lions
by Louise Callaghan

A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.