MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Reclusive Celebrities: Background information when reading This Must Be the Place

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

This Must Be the Place

A novel

by Maggie O'Farrell

This Must Be the Place by Maggie O'Farrell X
This Must Be the Place by Maggie O'Farrell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2016, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2017, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kate Braithwaite
Buy This Book

Reclusive Celebrities

This article relates to This Must Be the Place

Print Review

In Maggie O'Farrell's This Must be The Place, Claudette Wells is a movie star who has quit the world to live on a remote Irish farm. As unusual as this may seem, there are many real-life examples of celebrated individuals who have abandoned the public eye for a more private life.

Greta Garbo In 1932 the Hollywood superstar, Greta Garbo, playing the part of a dancer called Grusinskaya, famously uttered the words: "I want to be alone," in the movie Grand Hotel. It wasn't until nine years later however, at the age of thirty-six, that the actress announced a temporary break from her movie work — a break that marked the start of a 49-year period out of the limelight. Garbo lived alone in Manhattan until her death in 1990. The reason for her decision to be a recluse is still a subject of speculation with some evidence suggesting that she suffered from depression and may have been harboring unrequited love for another Swedish actress, Mimi Pollak.

Howard Hughes Howard Hughes inherited a fortune when he was only 18 years old. Within three years he had greatly expanded the business his father had established developing oil drilling equipment. In 1926 Hughes went to Hollywood producing popular movies including Scarface and The Outlaw, while also enjoying the spotlight in the aviation industry. But Hughes became a recluse in the 1950s. Although rarely ever seen again in public and reputed to have become a Valium addict, possibly with obsessive-compulsive tendencies, Hughes continued to command an immense business empire until his death in 1976. His years as a recluse have been the subject of several rumors and conspiracies theories, two of which resulted in movies: The Hoax (2006) and Melvin and Howard (1980).

Emily Dickinson In the world of literature, writers famous for shunning the limelight include the novelists J. D. Salinger and Harper Lee, but American poet, Emily Dickinson, unknown as a writer in her lifetime, may have been seriously agoraphobic. Emily was born in Massachusetts in 1830 and lived a notably quiet life, even for an unmarried gentlewoman of her day, residing in the same home until her death in 1886. Although she did attend school and college, as an adult Emily's shyness ultimately led to her only very rarely leaving the family home. Her self-imposed isolation continues to fascinate students of her poetry to a large degree because her imaginative life was demonstrably so vivid, even though her physical life was dramatically confined.

Bill Watterson Emily Dickinson's poems were not made public during her lifetime, but one well known cartoonist whose work was widely loved in the 1980s and 1990s, very deliberately turned his back on fame in favor of a much more private life. Bill Watterson has been called the "Howard Hughes of the comic world" having retired his much loved Calvin and Hobbes comic strip in 1995. Calvin, a six-year-old boy whose stuffed tiger Hobbes comes to life in his eyes, continues to capture the imagination of adults and new generations of children but these lovable and often philosophical characters do not appear in any of the merchandising now ubiquitous for similar creations like Peanuts. Watterson has refused to license any products bearing his characters' images. Bill Watterson lives with his wife in Cleveland and declines any requests for an interview.

Picture of Greta Garbo from Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
Picture of Howard Hughes from Biography.com
Picture of Emily Dickinson from Amhert College Archives and Special Collections
Picture of Bill Watterson from Biography.com

Article by Kate Braithwaite

This "beyond the book article" relates to This Must Be the Place. It originally ran in September 2016 and has been updated for the May 2017 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Between Two Fires
    Between Two Fires
    by Joshua Yaffa
    It was thought by many that the fall of the Soviet Union would transform Russia from a totalitarian ...
  • Book Jacket: This Is Happiness
    This Is Happiness
    by Niall Williams
    Niall Williams's This Is Happiness offers an extraordinary portrait of a particular moment in the ...
  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Evening in Paradise
by Lucia Berlin

"Berlin's new book is a marvel, filled with deeply touching stories about lives on the fringes."—NPR

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.