Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Murder at the 42nd Street Library by Con Lehane

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Murder at the 42nd Street Library

A Mystery

by Con Lehane

Murder at the 42nd Street Library by Con Lehane X
Murder at the 42nd Street Library by Con Lehane
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Apr 2016, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rory L. Aronsky
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An introduction to librarian and reluctant sleuth Raymond Ambler in this first book in a new mystery series by Con Lehane.

It doesn't matter if you're stopping in your favorite library to quickly pick up a book, or settling down for a day of research, it's inevitable that other books catch your eye. How did you not know about this one? Wait, another one?! Where has that one been all your life? Soon you're plunging deeper into the stacks, fascinated by potential treasures. The day grows dim outside and when you finally emerge - well, when did the evening show up?

Con Lehane's Murder at the 42nd Street Library, the first in his new series, has the same absorbing effect. It's a satisfying, slow-burning, complex mystery where, of course, the case is of utmost important to the characters, as it is in any mystery. But Lehane involves many more characters – and not just your typical suspects or law enforcement members. Raymond Ambler, for example, is the New York City research library's crime fiction collection curator, and he is working hard to figure out who shot Dr. James Donnelly in Library Director Harry Larkin's office. Moreover, as Ambler gets deeper into the case, aided by his vast knowledge of crime fiction and his personal reasons for crime solving, various factions in the library become more deeply involved. Chief among them is Maximilian Wagner, a blowhard biographer doing research in the collection of significant mystery writer Nelson Yates, who we learn later is slowly losing his mind. It's what Yates's disturbing past includes that drives most of the mystery.

The rest of the novel's characters are intricately and tightly woven together as they give their own perspectives in various chapters; from Adele, Ambler's friend who wants far more than the small life her mother left behind; to Mike Cosgrove, who's on the NYPD homicide squad and who has a lot in common with Ambler – especially their wives, both past and present; to Lehane's previous creation, bartender Brian McNulty, who led Lehane's three previous mysteries, proving to be the kind of helpful ally who doesn't always want to do what you claim you need done, but when times get desperate, he's there.

All of this feels like a full-scale deconstruction of the mystery novel. Especially Ambler's knowledge of crime fiction, full of observations like "in most murders the victim knows the killer," which seem to reveal to the reader the moving parts of a mystery. But Lehane trusts that the reader will still follow along, and perhaps gain even more interest by seeing what makes a mystery tick. The varied detours from the mystery into the lives of these characters keeps us riveted too, which gives us time to breathe and provides almost two novels in one: the mystery, of course, but also a character-driven story, as these people have fascinating lives! Mike Cosgrove being a "self-taught epicure," for instance; and the curious shoeshine boy, who plays a prominent part in the mystery.

And that library. Oh that 42nd Street Library! Even after the immense pleasure of knowing many of these people, the descriptions of the library, its stacks, and its offices are even more reason to read this mystery. There are continuous sighs of envy as more and more of it is revealed, imagining oneself there, and realizing that Lehane got to essentially live in this library twice – once for research, and then again in the writing of the novel. This will certainly happen a third time when the second book comes out, and there's no doubt that Lehane has a lot more to mine, both in the library and in mysteries to come. Library lovers are welcome here.

Reviewed by Rory L. Aronsky

This review first ran in the May 18, 2016 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Murder at the 42nd Street Library, try these:

  • Fortune Favors the Dead jacket

    Fortune Favors the Dead

    by Stephen Spotswood

    Published 2021

    About this book

    A wildly charming and fast-paced mystery written with all the panache of the hardboiled classics, Fortune Favors the Dead introduces Pentecost and Parker, an audacious new detective duo for the ages.

  • The Thursday Murder Club jacket

    The Thursday Murder Club

    by Richard Osman

    Published 2021

    About this book

    More by this author

    Four septuagenarians with a few tricks up their sleeves
    A female cop with her first big case
    A brutal murder
    Welcome to...
    THE THURSDAY MURDER CLUB

We have 7 read-alikes for Murder at the 42nd Street Library, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Con Lehane
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Swans of Harlem
    The Swans of Harlem
    by Karen Valby
    Journalist Karen Valby's first book, The Swans of Harlem, introduces readers to the little-known ...
  • Book Jacket: The Sicilian Inheritance
    The Sicilian Inheritance
    by Jo Piazza
    Sara Marsala is going through a rough patch, to say the least. In the process of divorcing from her ...
  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Romantic Comedy
by Curtis Sittenfeld
A comedy writer's stance on love shifts when a pop star challenges her assumptions in this witty and touching novel.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.