BookBrowse Reviews The Kindness of Enemies by Leila Aboulela

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Kindness of Enemies

by Leila Aboulela

The Kindness of Enemies by Leila Aboulela X
The Kindness of Enemies by Leila Aboulela
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2016, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2017, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kate Braithwaite
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


By drawing parallels with history, this contemporary novel effectively shows how clarity has been lost in today's discussions of religious issues.

The lives of modern-day Muslims living in Britain and a historical Muslim leader are intertwined in Leila Aboulela's beautifully written novel about identity and belonging.

In The Kindness of Enemies, the central character Natalie, has spent her formative years living in Sudan with her Russian mother and Sudanese father. When she was still a girl however, her parents divorced and Natalie and her mother moved to Scotland. When the novel opens, Natalie is a single woman in her thirties, a successful academic at Aberdeen University, specializing in Russian Imperialism and jihad as a form of resistance in the Caucasus region in the nineteenth century. As part of that research, Natalie visits the home of one her students, Oz, to see a sword belonging to his ancestor, Imam Shamil, leader of the Muslim resistance in the Caucasus. Unfortunately, Oz is arrested on suspicion of terrorist activities forcing Natalie to re-evaluate her life, her heritage and her faith.

The historical thread of the novel, based on actual fact, both mirrors and amplifies the struggles and experiences of Natalie, Oz and his mother Malak. Aboulela recreates the Caucasus mountain region of the mid-nineteenth century to great effect. Situated between the Black and Caspian Seas, the area currently forms part of the three nation states of Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan, but in the period evoked in The Kindness of Enemies, the Caucasus mountain tribes were engaged in fierce resistance against Russian rule.

In 1839, Imam Shamil's forces were besieged for eighty days and Shamil was forced to hand over his eight-year old son, Jamaleldin as a Russian hostage to break the deadlock and avoid starvation. The boy was taken to St. Petersburg and brought up at the court of Tzar Nicholas I. Fifteen years later, Shamil, determined to rescue his son, kidnapped Anna Elinichna, a Georgian Princess, and her son, holding them prisoner in the seraglio of his wives and demanding Jamaleldin's return.

The two stories, set in different time periods, are deftly united by theme and Aboulela creates fascinating connections between the characters across the centuries. Natalie's separation from her father in Sudan parallels the experience of Jamaleldin in Russia. Both spent their early years as Muslims but have moved elsewhere and their religious grounding has grown weaker as a result. The importance of faith and in particular the need for active spiritual guidance is also emphasized. Just as Shamil needs his mentor, Sheikh Jamal el-din, so does Natalie, who finds a possible guide in Oz's mother, Malak. In both stories there are lost sibling relationships, imprisonments and suggestions of illicit attraction – in the modern story between Natalie and her young student Oz; in the historical story between Imam Shamil and his prisoner, the married Princess Anna.

Aboulela adeptly evokes the nineteenth century and creates engrossing and complex characters. The convoluted historical background of the war in Crimea and rebellion in the Caucasus is made accessible within a dramatic storyline.

The concept of jihad has become synonymous with terrorism (see 'Beyond the Book'), but when Imam Shamil, an honorable, even noble, character uses the term, he is describing the defense of his homeland, not aggression or acts of terror. In the contemporary storyline, Oz is arrested and his university career derailed, it appears, solely because of online research he conducts for a course. And although Natalie wants nothing more than to feel at home somewhere, it is clear in Aboulela's novel, that for a young, intelligent Muslim woman in the UK, feeling that she belongs is not as easy as it ought to be.

At a time of international concern over terrorism and fears of jihad against non-Muslim nations, these threads that The Kindness of Enemies unearths, make it a deeply humane, refreshing and insightful read.

Reviewed by Kate Braithwaite

This review was originally published in February 2016, and has been updated for the January 2017 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  What is Jihad?

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.