BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews The Kindness of Enemies by Leila Aboulela

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Kindness of Enemies by Leila Aboulela

The Kindness of Enemies

by Leila Aboulela
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  • First Published:
  • Jan 5, 2016
  • Paperback:
  • Jan 2017
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


By drawing parallels with history, this contemporary novel effectively shows how clarity has been lost in today's discussions of religious issues.

The lives of modern-day Muslims living in Britain and a historical Muslim leader are intertwined in Leila Aboulela's beautifully written novel about identity and belonging.

In The Kindness of Enemies, the central character Natalie, has spent her formative years living in Sudan with her Russian mother and Sudanese father. When she was still a girl however, her parents divorced and Natalie and her mother moved to Scotland. When the novel opens, Natalie is a single woman in her thirties, a successful academic at Aberdeen University, specializing in Russian Imperialism and jihad as a form of resistance in the Caucasus region in the nineteenth century. As part of that research, Natalie visits the home of one her students, Oz, to see a sword belonging to his ancestor, Imam Shamil, leader of the Muslim resistance in the Caucasus. Unfortunately, Oz is arrested on suspicion of terrorist activities forcing Natalie to re-evaluate her life, her heritage and her faith.

The historical thread of the novel, based on actual fact, both mirrors and amplifies the struggles and experiences of Natalie, Oz and his mother Malak. Aboulela recreates the Caucasus mountain region of the mid-nineteenth century to great effect. Situated between the Black and Caspian Seas, the area currently forms part of the three nation states of Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan, but in the period evoked in The Kindness of Enemies, the Caucasus mountain tribes were engaged in fierce resistance against Russian rule.

In 1839, Imam Shamil's forces were besieged for eighty days and Shamil was forced to hand over his eight-year old son, Jamaleldin as a Russian hostage to break the deadlock and avoid starvation. The boy was taken to St. Petersburg and brought up at the court of Tzar Nicholas I. Fifteen years later, Shamil, determined to rescue his son, kidnapped Anna Elinichna, a Georgian Princess, and her son, holding them prisoner in the seraglio of his wives and demanding Jamaleldin's return.

The two stories, set in different time periods, are deftly united by theme and Aboulela creates fascinating connections between the characters across the centuries. Natalie's separation from her father in Sudan parallels the experience of Jamaleldin in Russia. Both spent their early years as Muslims but have moved elsewhere and their religious grounding has grown weaker as a result. The importance of faith and in particular the need for active spiritual guidance is also emphasized. Just as Shamil needs his mentor, Sheikh Jamal el-din, so does Natalie, who finds a possible guide in Oz's mother, Malak. In both stories there are lost sibling relationships, imprisonments and suggestions of illicit attraction – in the modern story between Natalie and her young student Oz; in the historical story between Imam Shamil and his prisoner, the married Princess Anna.

Aboulela adeptly evokes the nineteenth century and creates engrossing and complex characters. The convoluted historical background of the war in Crimea and rebellion in the Caucasus is made accessible within a dramatic storyline.

The concept of jihad has become synonymous with terrorism (see 'Beyond the Book'), but when Imam Shamil, an honorable, even noble, character uses the term, he is describing the defense of his homeland, not aggression or acts of terror. In the contemporary storyline, Oz is arrested and his university career derailed, it appears, solely because of online research he conducts for a course. And although Natalie wants nothing more than to feel at home somewhere, it is clear in Aboulela's novel, that for a young, intelligent Muslim woman in the UK, feeling that she belongs is not as easy as it ought to be.

At a time of international concern over terrorism and fears of jihad against non-Muslim nations, these threads that The Kindness of Enemies unearths, make it a deeply humane, refreshing and insightful read.

Reviewed by Kate Braithwaite

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in February 2016, and has been updated for the January 2017 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  What is Jihad?

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Kindness of Enemies, try these:

  • A Good Country jacket

    A Good Country

    by Laleh Khadivi

    Published 2018

    About This book

    A timely novel about the radicalization of a Muslim teen in California - about where identity truly lies, and how we find it.

  • The Islamic Enlightenment jacket

    The Islamic Enlightenment

    by Christopher de Bellaigue

    Published 2018

    About This book

    A revelatory and game-changing narrative that rewrites everything we thought we knew about the modern history of the Islamic world.

We have 10 read-alikes for The Kindness of Enemies, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Leila Aboulela
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

Discovery consists of seeing what everybody has seen and thinking what nobody has thought.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.