What is Jihad?: Background information when reading The Kindness of Enemies

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Kindness of Enemies

by Leila Aboulela

The Kindness of Enemies by Leila Aboulela X
The Kindness of Enemies by Leila Aboulela
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2016, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2017, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kate Braithwaite
Buy This Book

About this Book

What is Jihad?

This article relates to The Kindness of Enemies

Print Review

In The Kindness of Enemies, Leila Aboulela's twenty-first century protagonist Natalie asks: "How did this historical change in the very definition of jihad come about?" This question is developed thematically though the historical storyline in Aboulela's novel which features Imam Shamil, a mid-nineteenth century Muslim leader of mountain tribes in the Caucasus Mountain region, battling for independence from Russian forces. Talking about his battle with the Russians, Shamil uses the term "jihad", but this is not the jihad of today's headlines - of ISIS (also known as Daesh) beheadings or the attacks in Paris and Beirut - and Shamil is a character who is highly religious, thoughtful and honest.

The Arabic translation of the word "jihad" is "to strive for some objective" and the Islamic Supreme Council of America makes it clear that among the meanings for jihad within the Islamic faith, only one strand is combative. Jihad is therefore not synonymous with holy war, but "can refer to internal as well as external efforts to be good Muslims or believers, as well as working to inform people about the faith of Islam." The militaristic aspect of jihad, they explain, should be very rare but "the concept of jihad has been hijacked by many political and religious groups over the ages to justify various forms of violence."

Although Imam Shamil in The Kindness of Enemies, does use jihad to describe a military conflict, it is abundantly clear that he is in a defensive position, a victim of Russian aggression and deception. Nearly ten years ago, NPR reported that Douglas Streusand, an expert in Islamic history had written to the Pentagon suggesting that the use of the term jihadis to describe terrorists should be reconsidered. "The question is not whether or not jihad is a good thing, because for a Muslim, jihad is a good thing. The question is whether the activity that they are undertaking should be classified as jihad."

Ad campaign poster In 2013 a group of Muslims in Chicago attempted to reclaim the term as a descriptor for personal struggle, producing a series of advertisements displayed on buses and subways stations in major cities. In one example, a young Muslim woman wearing a headscarf is pictured in a gym lifting arm weights, saying "My jihad is to stay fit despite my busy schedule."

It may be however, as Aboulela's character suspects, that the definition of jihad has effectively changed from its historical and more peaceful origins. The Merriam-Webster dictionary defines jihad first and foremost as "a holy war waged on behalf of Islam as a religious duty."

Example picture of My Jihad ad campaign from myjihad.org

Article by Kate Braithwaite

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Kindness of Enemies. It originally ran in February 2016 and has been updated for the January 2017 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.