BookBrowse Reviews Under the Udala Trees by Chinelo Okparanta

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Under the Udala Trees

by Chinelo Okparanta

Under the Udala Trees by Chinelo Okparanta X
Under the Udala Trees by Chinelo Okparanta
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2015, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2016, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A young Nigerian woman tries to reconcile her religion with her sexuality in a culturally oppressive country.

Chinelo Okparanta's debut novel Under the Udala Trees is a heartfelt coming-of-age story set in Nigeria. The plot primarily follows two trajectories: life during and just after the Nigerian Civil War (July 1967 – January 1970), and the protagonist's growing sense of sexual identity in a conservative Christian culture.

Ijeoma, a Nigerian woman now in her 50s, narrates the story, relaying her past to explain how she developed into the adult she ultimately became. She begins with her childhood, which was idyllic until war came to town and ripped apart her comfortable existence in a loving household. She goes on to tell how the ensuing hardships forced her to become a servant and also led her to her first experiences of physical intimacy – and the personal struggles she endured as a consequence.

The book has many strengths, the first and foremost of which is the author's characterization. The novel doesn't have a large cast, primarily revolving around Ijeoma, her mother, and Ijeoma's lovers. First-person accounts can be especially difficult to pull off effectively; it's challenging for an author to make the protagonist's voice interesting and varied enough to keep readers entertained for the length of the novel, and also to completely develop other characters even though readers only experience them from that singular viewpoint. Okparanta pulls off this feat with seeming ease; Ijeoma's narrative voice feels completely honest and her stories about those around her ring true; even minor characters appear wonderfully real – familiar without being flat.

The writing, too, is beautifully descriptive, capturing not only the sights of Nigeria but its feel as well:

This was the normal cycle of things: the rainy season followed by the dry season, and the harmattan folding itself within the dry. All the while, goats bleated. Dogs barked. Hens and roosters scuttled up and down the roads, staying close to the compounds to which they belonged. Striped swordtails and monarchs, grass yellows and redtops – all the butterflies – flitted leisurely from one flower to the next… As for us, we moved about in that unhurried way of the butterflies, as if the breeze was sweet, as if the sun on our skin was a caress. As if slow paces allowed for the savoring of both. This was the way things were before the war: our lives, tamely moving forward.

The plotline that details life in the aftermath of war is strong, but the real highlight is Ijeoma's journey of acceptance of her love for other women in light of her society's disapproval. Her mother calls her homosexuality an "abomination," and in Nigeria being discovered to be a homosexual can lead to prison or even death (see 'Beyond the Book'). The novel goes beyond being a simple coming-of-age story or search for identity, developing into a profoundly spiritual search to reconcile the heroine's belief in a loving God with teachings that condemn an integral part of her being. The author captures her character's confusion, desire to fit in, wish to please, and her longing to simply be herself – and the portrait she paints is both complex and extremely moving.

This superb novel may not suit everyone's taste. Okparanta doesn't go into graphic detail as she relays Ijoema's liaisons, but the encounters are described explicitly enough to leave no doubt about what's taking place; more conservative readers might find these scenes challenging. Also, the book isn't a religious treatise, but Biblical texts and belief in God certainly play a large part. I'm not a particularly religious person and I found these scenes a bit disturbing at first but ultimately highly affecting; it's certainly possible, however, that those without a religious bent will find this aspect of the book distracting. The flip side of the author's views on religion and homosexuality is that those who espouse more traditional opinions may find Okparanta's take on these subjects offensive.

These cautions aside, I found myself deeply touched by Under the Udala Trees and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to most readers. It should especially appeal to those who like reading about other countries and cultures, as well as anyone who simply enjoys a well crafted coming-of-age novel; book groups in particular will likely find it's a good choice for discussion.

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review was originally published in October 2015, and has been updated for the September 2016 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.