Nigeria's Stance Against Homosexuality: Background information when reading Under the Udala Trees

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Under the Udala Trees

by Chinelo Okparanta

Under the Udala Trees by Chinelo Okparanta X
Under the Udala Trees by Chinelo Okparanta
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2015, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2016, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

Nigeria's Stance Against Homosexuality

This article relates to Under the Udala Trees

Print Review

Over the course of Under the Udala Trees, the heroine, Ijeoma, discovers she's a lesbian, at first fighting her inclinations and trying to fit in, but later accepting that she's different from many of her peers.

Ex Nigerian President Jonathan Goodluck, who signed the country's Same Sex Marriage Prohibition Act into law Although homosexuals have gained more acceptance over the past decade in the United States and other Western countries, they've actually lost rights over the past few years in many areas of Africa. Same-sex relations are currently outlawed in at least 34 of the 55 African states, with Nigeria's Same Sex Marriage Prohibition Act being among the most strict. Unanimously passed by Nigeria's House of Representatives and signed into law by (then) President Goodluck Jonathan on January 7, 2014, the law imposes a penalty of up to 14 years in jail for individuals committing homosexual acts and up to 10 years in jail for anyone who "administers, witnesses, abets or aids" a homosexual man or woman. Speaking on behalf of the president, his aide Reuben Abati said, "This is a law that is in line with the people's cultural and religious inclination. So it is a law that is a reflection of the beliefs and orientation of Nigerian people...Nigerians are pleased with it."

The sad truth is that his statement is not an exaggeration of the population's stance on the issue; a recent Pew Research Center survey determined that 98% of the country disapproves of homosexuality.

Homosexuals in Nigeria and other African states are frequently the targets of mob violence, with the crimes committed against these individuals going uninvestigated, even when the victims are killed. Indeed, in northern Nigeria as well as Mauritania and Sudan, being arrested as a homosexual can result in the death penalty, while in Uganda, a convicted homosexual can be sentenced to life in prison. In some countries individuals can be publicly lashed for the "crime" of being gay; engaging in same-sex behavior in Angola, Mauritius, Morocco and Mozambique can result in a sentence of hard labor.

American President Barack Obama has urged African states to decriminalize homosexuality, and other members of the international community have discussed putting in place economic sanctions against countries because of their stand on the subject. Various African leaders have pushed back, however, claiming that acceptance of same sex relationships is a purely Western idea and one that is completely alien to Africans. Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta said in response to President Obama, "There are some things that we must admit we don't share…It's very difficult for us to impose on people that which they themselves do not accept." According to The African Sun Times, Kenyan Cardinal John Njue, Archbishop of Nairobi and president of the Kenyan Episcopal Conference, commented that, "Those people who have already ruined their society...let them not become our teachers to tell us where to go...I think we need to act according to our own traditions and our faiths."

Twelve African nations have no laws criminalizing homosexuality, but even in these "safe havens" discrimination against gays and lesbians is common. The nation of South Africa is the one exception on the continent as the only African nation to have laws prohibiting discrimination against homosexuals; it is also the only African country to permit same-sex marriage.

Picture of ex-Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan by January

Article by Kim Kovacs

This "beyond the book article" relates to Under the Udala Trees. It originally ran in October 2015 and has been updated for the September 2016 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Patsy
    by Nicole Dennis-Benn

    A haunting depiction of immigration and womanhood, and the silent threads of love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.