BookBrowse Reviews The Dog Who Could Fly by Damien Lewis

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Dog Who Could Fly

The Incredible True Story of a WWII Airman and the Four-Legged Hero Who Flew At His Side

by Damien Lewis

The Dog Who Could Fly
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jun 2014, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2015, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rory L. Aronsky

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Set against the backdrop of war, The Dog Who Could Fly is a story of the unshakeable bond between a man and his best friend - a dog.

It feels uncouth to exclaim "What an adventure!" about the close relationship between a Czech airman and his newfound German Shepherd in the thick of World War II, one of the darkest times in the history of the world. Yet that's the exact vibe that author and burgeoning war dog historian Damien Lewis gives off in The Dog Who Could Fly, and it is true – together they have an incredible, heroic adventure.

In 1938, escaping his beloved, native Czechoslovakia before the Nazis rolled in and seized control, Robert Bozdech joined the French Air Force. He was practically seething with patriotic rage, wanting to get up in the air and shoot down the Nazis so he could have his country back. But in the winter of 1939, on board a Potez 63 fighter-bomber, gunner Robert and his French pilot, Pierre, were shot down by German ground fire from the ground, their plane crashing in a no-man'...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  A Note to Damien Lewis

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.