BookBrowse Reviews The Snow Queen by Michael Cunningham

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Snow Queen

by Michael Cunningham

The Snow Queen by Michael Cunningham
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2014, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2015, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Suzanne Reeder

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


This complex novel evaluates family dynamics and love in their myriad manifestations.

Michael Cunningham's provocative book, The Snow Queen, shares the same title as the Hans Christian Andersen fairy tale about good and evil but veers far from the classic story. Within a contemporary context, his novel explores the gray areas between the two extremes: the vicissitudes of ordinary existence that capriciously elevate or deplete the human soul.

Cunningham is the author of many novels, including the Pulitzer Prize-winning The Hours, published in 1998, and By Nightfall, released in 2010. The Snow Queen explores similar themes from these earlier works: brotherhood, marriage, middle age, gay and straight relationships, and caring for a dying loved one. The novel also fully possesses his distinctive style that matured after his poignant 1990 debut A Home at the End of the World. In this most recent offering, Cunningham's prose is meticulously crafted. His ruminations about relationships — their messiness and their seemingly small but magnificent joys — are astonishingly insightful. His honesty can be wrenching, yet his compassion and humor are plentiful (as are his parenthetical remarks, by now familiar to his fans).

Imbued throughout with wintery details, the novel opens on a cold November night in 2004. Thirty-eight-year-old Barrett Meeks is walking alone, "crunching over ice-coated silver-gray snow" through Central Park, when he looks up and sees a celestial light, pale aqua in color, what he thinks, at first, must be a "freakish southerly appearance of the aurora borealis." Whether the translucent light — which appears to him four days after he's been dumped, via text message, by his boyfriend — is merely "a blip...just one of those things," or something more significant in meaning, sets this questing family story on its mysterious, and ultimately revelatory, course.

Early on we learn that Barrett lives in Brooklyn, in the "placidly impoverished neighborhood" of Bushwick (see 'Beyond the Book') with his 43-year-old brother, Tyler, and Beth, his fiancée. Beth is dying of cancer, has lost her hair from chemo, and resembles Andersen's Snow Queen only by her manner of dress — all white — when she's strong enough to venture outside. Beth seems, at first, to be one of Cunningham's most sympathetic and simple characters to date. She bakes. She has fashion sense. She's an avid reader. She's "kind to just about everyone" and, despite her cancer diagnosis, insists "on living in the most generous and abundant possible world." With time, however, her disease — being "marveled at" — causes her to change, to doubt herself, in unexpected ways.

Tyler, meanwhile, is a struggling musician and vitriolic liberal whose nickname, "Mister No Fun," inspires within him simultaneous embarrassment and pride. He also uses cocaine, which provides for him the "sting of livingness" as he lovingly cares for Beth, who remains unaware of his addiction. For a while at least, so does Barrett, a Yale grad with a "capacious and quirky mind," whose post-graduation years were spent driving around the country, working menial jobs, and floundering in a myriad other ways. After losing his apartment and lacking funds for a new one, he's ended up with Tyler and Beth. Though he loves and dotes on his brother, Tyler reveals too, his opinion that Barrett has become "another of New York's just-barelies," who lacks "the ability to choose, and persist." Mid-life, Barrett is working retail, selling unique but semi-affordable objects and garments like "paper-thin leathers" and "jewel-dusted scarves." In his downtime, he rereads Madame Bovary, his favorite novel.

Similar to his previous works, Cunningham masterfully articulates the painful truths about the complexities of love shared between or among friends, lovers, and families. About Beth, for instance, whom Barrett adores, he admits to himself "a terrible thing." He finds sometimes he wants Beth either to recover or die because the phases in between — "the endless waiting, the uncertainty," as well as the barrage of doctors, mainly "upsettingly young" who "purely and simply, don't know what's going to work" — are excruciating to bear.

Though Cunningham's narrative is deeply affecting in many sections, the book tends to lack a strong cohesion. In a few too many places, questionable choices — particularly with storylines involving a larger cast beyond Barrett, Tyler, and Beth — distract from the novel's more compelling elements. Also disconcerting, at times, is Cunningham's inclusion of theological questions and themes, which serve mainly as set-ups for clever but limited dialogue rather than resonant contemplations.

At its core, however, The Snow Queen is about searching: for clarity, miracles, faith, love, and meaningful work. Despite some flaws, the book is a sensitively rendered story in which significance, even hope, might be found in a stunning night sky yet also may be present closer to home, just waiting to be discovered.

Reviewed by Suzanne Reeder

This review was originally published in July 2014, and has been updated for the May 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.