BookBrowse Reviews Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Complicit

by Stephanie Kuehn

Complicit
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jun 2014, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2016, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Tomp

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A crime in the past, and its reverberations years later, draw a teenager's struggles with mental illness into full focus.

When seventeen year-old Jamie Henry receives word that his older sister Cate, is being released from the juvenile detention center where she's served a term for arson, his hands turn ice-cold. It's more than a matter of discomfort — they become completely numb and useless, and Jamie is temporarily crippled by this mysterious affliction. The first time this happened was two years ago, when he first heard about the midnight fire in a barn on the Ramirez ranch. Sarah Ciorelli, Jamie's best friend's girlfriend, was badly injured, along with several of the horses. Cate confessed to setting the fire and was sent away.

All Jamie wants is for life to be normal — to play jazz and keep his 4.0 grade-point average. He wants to pursue the tenuous but gratifying relationship he's begun with Jenny Lacouture. But all this is at risk whenever he has one of his ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Conversion Disorder

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.