BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn

Complicit

by Stephanie Kuehn
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  •  Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
  • Jun 24, 2014
  • Paperback:
  • Mar 2016
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A crime in the past, and its reverberations years later, draw a teenager's struggles with mental illness into full focus.

When seventeen year-old Jamie Henry receives word that his older sister Cate, is being released from the juvenile detention center where she's served a term for arson, his hands turn ice-cold. It's more than a matter of discomfort — they become completely numb and useless, and Jamie is temporarily crippled by this mysterious affliction. The first time this happened was two years ago, when he first heard about the midnight fire in a barn on the Ramirez ranch. Sarah Ciorelli, Jamie's best friend's girlfriend, was badly injured, along with several of the horses. Cate confessed to setting the fire and was sent away.

All Jamie wants is for life to be normal — to play jazz and keep his 4.0 grade-point average. He wants to pursue the tenuous but gratifying relationship he's begun with Jenny Lacouture. But all this is at risk whenever he has one of his inexplicable spells of paralysis. They seem to be brought on by surprise and worry. Now that Cate is released, Jamie is under an even greater amount of stress. His nineteen year-old sister is volatile and unpredictable. As Jamie tells us: "The last night I saw Cate, she was drunk. Or on drugs. Or just plain crazy. Take your pick." We know Jamie's struggles are tangled up in his relationship with Cate.

From the first chapter of this young adult novel — and even from the publisher's description of the story — it is clear Complicit is a story about mental illness. Jamie is fragile. He's worried about his sister's sanity. But he has good reason to be. After all, he and Cate survived some horrific times together as young children. They started their lives fatherless and in extreme poverty. When their mother was shot and killed in their own home, the siblings were sent to live in a series of upsetting foster homes. Finally, they were adopted by the wealthy but grieving couple of Angie and Malcolm Henry. Angie and Malcolm's own children — a boy and a girl — were killed in an accident. They are a family made from tragedy. And one that has been torn apart by Cate's destructive behaviors.

Now Cate is determined to see Jamie. She calls and sends him messages. In harsh and impatient language, she insists that they meet. She screams and cusses and reveals the rage that Jamie fears. Because the story is told from close inside Jamie's head, we see Cate through his eyes. We feel his distress and uncertainty over the things Cate says. She tells Jamie there are things he doesn't understand. She wants to share information with him about their mother and their past. But every time Cate gets close to Jamie, his hands go numb and he passes out. When he finally wakes again, he has no recollection of their meeting. It's clear that Jamie is terrified of his sister and what she might be capable of doing. Yet, he also loves her. Admires her. He wants to save her.

Desperate to understand what Cate wants — and to make sense of his memories, Jamie begins to search for the truth. The resulting story is fast-paced and filled with tension. Because we only get Jamie's perspective, there is no way we can grasp the whole picture. After all, he is an unreliable narrator struggling with his own complicated psychological issues.

Although Jamie is clearly intelligent and triggers our sympathy, he is not particularly likable. He believes Cate to be the reason he has no friends. He is judgmental and disdainful of his adoptive parents despite their obvious care and generosity. Maybe "Crazy Cate" knows something we don't.

Complicit definitely falls into the genre of psychological thriller; there is never any doubt that Jamie is on the edge of madness. The novel feels like an authentic look at the battle with mental illness; one can see what it might be like to lose one's ability to interpret and make sense of the world. There is no mystery about whether Jamie is unstable or not. It lies instead in his unraveling, the shaking up of his coping strategies.

Although Stephanie Kuehn is a masterful storyteller, I don't think Complicit has quite the same heart and poignancy of her debut novel, Charm & Strange; the winner of the William C. Morris Award for debut young-adult literature. However, this is definitely a compelling and taut tale told in precise and well-wrought language. Any reader, young adult or older, fascinated by the intricacy and mystery of mental illness will be well rewarded.

Reviewed by Sarah Tomp

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in July 2014, and has been updated for the March 2016 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Conversion Disorder

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Complicit, try these:

We have 10 read-alikes for Complicit, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Stephanie Kuehn
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

A library is thought in cold storage

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.