Who said: "To be ignorant of what occurred before you were born is to remain always a child"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"To be ignorant of what occurred before you were born is to remain always a child"
- Marcus Tullius Cicero

CiceroCicero (106 B.C. -43 B.C.) was a Roman orator, statesman and philosopher.  He was born in Arpinum (modern day Arpino, about 60 miles from Rome) and studied law, oratory, philosophy and literature in Rome before embarking on a political career, becoming a consul in 63 B.C. He wrote most of his chief works while living in retirement in the couple of years preceding his death.  He greatly expanded the vocabulary of the Latin language, which allowed later writers to adopt a more fluid style to expound their own doctrines.  In 43 B.C. he delivered his famous speech against Marcus Antonius, and was murdered shortly afterwards on December 7th, 43 B.C.  He is considered the greatest forensic orator that Rome ever produced.

If you're rusty on the finer details of advocacy, the word forensic is defined as 'pertaining to, connected with, or used in courts of law' (coming from the word forum, which was the meeting place for judicial and other public business in ancient Rome).  Thus a forensic orator is one who practices legal oratory.  The Greek lawyer, Corax (5th century B.C.) established the principles of legal oratory.

It's difficult to pick just one Cicero quote. Here are a few more:
The higher we are placed, the more humbly we should walk.
Peace is liberty in tranquility.
While there's life, there's hope.
Every man can tell how many goats or sheep he possesses, but not how many friends.
What nobler employment, or more valuable to the state, than that of the man who instructs the rising generation?

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.