Conversion Disorder: Background information when reading Complicit

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Complicit

by Stephanie Kuehn

Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn X
Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jun 2014, 256 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2016, 256 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Tomp
Buy This Book

About this Book

Conversion Disorder

This article relates to Complicit

Print Review

Jamie Henry, the narrator of Complicit is given many diagnoses and explanations for the physiological symptoms he fights on a daily basis. At one point he is told that he has Conversion Disorder which seems to explain many of his troubles, including the paralysis of his hands when facing a stressful situation.

Conversion Disorder is a type of Somatoform Disorder — a mental illness where an individual reveals psychological stress in physical ways. (For related information about Somatization, please refer to Beyond the Book for One Doctor). There is a wide range of severity and frequency within this diagnosis. The symptom could be as simple as a stomach ache or as complex and limiting as complete paralysis. There is no clear physiological explanation for the symptoms and they cannot be controlled or stopped on demand. The physiological response is often directly related to the experience. For example, an individual who was unable to warn someone of impending danger may lose his/her voice. Or a bad fall may cause patients to feel pain or paralysis in the leg despite the fact there was no actual injury. There have even been instances of a woman developing all the symptoms of pregnancy following the loss of a child.

Generally symptoms of Conversion Disorder affect either motion or any of the five senses. Symptoms related to motion include weakness of a specific body part, abnormal movement, loss of balance, episodes of non-responsiveness, or seizures. The senses may be impacted by experiencing strange smells, a loss of taste, blindness or hearing loss. Historically, Conversion Disorder was also called Hysteria.

In 2011, several teen girls from LeRoy, New York, exhibited a Tourette-like condition with tics and verbal outbursts. After ruling out possibilities such as reactions to an environmental contamination, vaccine, or a disease, doctors identified the problem as mass Conversion Disorder.

Although Conversion Disorder is almost always caused by a traumatic experience, individuals may be more at risk for developing this type of response if they have other emotional disorders such as depression, mood disorder, or anxiety. A history of child abuse or neglect may significantly impact its development.

Filed under Medicine, Science and Tech

Article by Sarah Tomp

This "beyond the book article" relates to Complicit. It originally ran in July 2014 and has been updated for the March 2016 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Where Coyotes Howl
    Where Coyotes Howl
    by Sandra Dallas
    Where Coyotes Howl may appear to be a classically conventional historical novel — a wide-eyed ...
  • Book Jacket: After the Miracle
    After the Miracle
    by Max Wallace
    Many people have heard one particular story about Helen Keller—how the saintly teacher, Annie ...
  • Book Jacket: The Lost Wife
    The Lost Wife
    by Susanna Moore
    The Lost Wife is a hard-hitting novella based in part on a white settler named Sarah Wakefield's ...
  • Book Jacket
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Voted 2021 Best Young Adult Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Angeline Boulley's young adult ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The First Conspiracy
by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
A remarkable and previously untold piece of American history—the secret plot to kill George Washington

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Pieces of Blue
    by Holly Goldberg Sloan

    A hilarious and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub.

Win This Book
Win Girlfriend on Mars

30 Copies to Give Away!

A funny and poignant debut novel that skewers billionaire-funded space travel in a love story of interplanetary proportions.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S I F A R Day

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.