BookBrowse Reviews Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Everything I Never Told You

by Celeste Ng

Everything I Never Told You
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2014, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2015, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

The death of a mixed-race teenager sheds light on the weight of parental expectations and the role of identity in Everything I Never Told You.

Celeste Ng's (pronounced "ing") debut novel, Everything I Never Told You, begins with the death of 16-year-old Lydia Lee, middle child of Chinese-American James Lee and his Caucasian wife Marilyn, and sister to Nathan and Hannah. As the plot progresses, the author gradually reveals the many factors that contributed to the tragedy; the details of Lydia's life slowly emerge to form a complete picture — almost like a Polaroid sharpening from a faded image into a crystal clear photo.

Ostensibly about discovering the circumstances behind the heartbreaking loss of a teenager, the book dives into much more. Ng's themes are complex and densely packed as she explores such subjects as the varied effects of an unexpected death on people; the feeling of being different and alone and how race can contribute to one's sense of isolation; the way parental attitudes and expectations influence ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Anti-Miscegenation Laws

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.