BookBrowse Reviews The Ten Thousand Things by John Spurling

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Ten Thousand Things

by John Spurling

The Ten Thousand Things
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2014, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2015, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

The Ten Thousand Things follows Wang Meng, an extraordinarily gifted artist, as he travels through an empire in turmoil.

It might have been the ancient Greek philosopher Socrates who once said that an unexamined life is not worth living, but his lessons are remarkably well applied in the novel, The Ten Thousand Things, set in 14th-century China. Author John Spurling has modeled his fictional protagonist Wang Meng by hewing closely to the real-life equivalent, one of the Four Masters of The Yuan and best known for his Chinese landscape painting (see Beyond the Book). Wang Meng's life spanned one of China's most turbulent times: when the end of Kublai Khan's 90-year Mongol empire lead to civil war and anarchy, eventually crowning a new emperor, Zhu Yuanzhang, who launched the Ming dynasty.

As the novel opens, Wang Meng is seventy-eight years old and in jail charged with conspiracy against the government because he attended a private viewing of art. Confused and irritated by this punishment, Wang narrates...

Additional Information

John Spurling talks about why he felt compelled to write The Ten Thousand Things in The Spectator.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Four Yuan Masters

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.