BookBrowse Reviews Bark by Lorrie Moore

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Bark

Stories

by Lorrie Moore

Bark
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2014, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2014, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sharry Wright

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

The short stories in Bark plumb the depths of human emotion while portraying people coping with the loss of love.

In these eight stories, Lorrie Moore explores the emotional fallout of divorce with biting humor and the deep ache of sadness. The end of love. The book's title, Bark, shows up in several of the stories with various meanings—the bark of a man's voice; someone barking up the wrong tree; the denial that a dog's bark could be worse than its bite. I saw Bark as a metaphor; the tough outer layer that a tree grows to protect what is tender, soft and vulnerable inside is not unlike our own defenses—the lashing out, cynicism and sharp tongues we sometimes use to protect ourselves.

In "Debarking," Ira, a newly divorced man—bitter, terrified and depressed—ventures into the awkward and deflating arena of middle-aged dating only to find his date (a life-weary, hashish-smoking, pediatrician) equally bitter even eleven years after her own divorce. She is more interested in ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.