BookBrowse Reviews Motherland by Maria Hummel

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Motherland

by Maria Hummel

Motherland by Maria Hummel
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2014, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2015, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Instead of focusing on the well-known atrocities of World War II, Motherland shines light on Germany's citizens, struggling to stay alive in the chaos.

Motherland is set in Germany during the final months of World War II. The plot centers around the Kappus family: Frank, a reconstructive surgeon drafted into service; Liesl, his young second wife left behind to care for Frank's family; Hans, Frank's eldest son, still mourning the death of his mother and resentful of his new stepmother; and Ani, Hans's frail younger brother. Hummel illustrates the trials the family faces as the Third Reich crumbles around them, particularly Liesl's attempts to keep her stepchildren safe in the face of increasingly dire circumstances.

The novel is not the first to focus on how the war impacted the common citizens of Germany – those who weren't involved in the decisions made by their government but who generally did support Hitler, at least initially. Hummel devotes little space to the atrocities the Nazis committed - the horrors of the Holocaust, their eugenics program or Germany's unprovoked invasions of neighboring countries. She instead highlights the initial optimism and pride of the populace and, later, a growing disillusionment with the leaders as it became obvious they would not win the war. Liesl exemplifies this changing attitude, transitioning from someone who avidly follows Hitler's speeches and agrees with the party line completely to a woman just trying to keep her family alive and together. Interestingly, Hummel doesn't portray her characters as believing that the Nazis did anything wrong; she merely has them display awareness that they are on the losing side of the conflict and hence must suffer the consequences. It's an unusual approach to writing historical fiction about WWII Germany, which works very well here. The heroine comes across as a less sympathetic character but also more human and more truly representative of the attitudes of most German citizens.

Hummel's prose is beautifully descriptive as she expertly captures everyday life in a city in the midst of an encroaching war – the bombings, the deprivations and the impacts on the emotional life of the children in the area. The stress people are under in those circumstances is intense, and the author is able to convey the tension with marvelous realism.

When Liesl heard the noise from the cellar, her hand shook and the coffee spilled. The liquid spread in claws across the counter, its color neither brown nor red nor black, but some combination of all three, earthen and old. A hopeless feeling rose in her chest. She had discovered the grounds deep in the pantry yesterday, tucked behind a post, in a tiny tin next to a tiny pot of jam, both labeled in the first wife's hand. It was surely the last real coffee in all of Hannesburg, boiled with the last of the morning coal, the sharp selfish heaven of its scent rising toward her face. Then it splashed everywhere.

The author's characterizations are also spot on. Hans is perfectly drawn as a ten-year-old confused by the near-constant changes consuming his life and in particular about his conflicted feelings regarding his new stepmother. Liesl, too, is very convincing as a woman in crisis just barely keeping herself from falling apart for the sake of the boys in her care. While I enjoyed the novel very much, I feel that the author's choice about what to include (or exclude) in the narrative weakens its impact substantially. There are, for example, several chapters devoted to Frank's work as a reconstructive surgeon that, while interesting, add little to the plot. Also, there is ongoing concern throughout the story that Ani will be sent to the infamous psychiatric hospital, Hadamar, but that plot line is under-developed, touching only a bit on the implications of being a "patient" at the facility. In addition, the last fifty pages of the novel are a mere summary of what the family endured in the months after the Americans entered their city. I wanted more information and was disappointed that after the depth of the earlier chapters this section was so brief.

That quibble aside, Motherland is excellent historical fiction that puts a slightly different take on a well-known era. Hummel's characterizations, rich descriptions and portrayal of a city in wartime make this one a good choice for anyone who enjoys WWII novels. It is also a suitable selection for book groups, with many topics that could spark an animated discussion.

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review was originally published in January 2014, and has been updated for the January 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Systematic Euthanasia

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.