BookBrowse Reviews The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Luminaries

A Novel

by Eleanor Catton

The Luminaries
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2013, 848 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2014, 864 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Tomp

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Set in the height of New Zealand's gold rush, this Man Booker prize-winning novel boasts a complicated plot and a colorful cast of characters.

At 848 pages, The Luminaries is the longest book I've ever read. And possibly the most complicated besides. There is a large cast of central players—nineteen live ones, one dead—as well as additional supporting characters, each one contributing a crucial part to this lively and entertaining story, a mystery charged with all the deadly sins; most particularly greed and lust. Storylines are not always told in a linear fashion; we shift back and forth in time. With exquisite prose, Eleanor Catton weaves together many individual stories to paint a rich picture at a pivotal moment in history.

It is January 1866 in Hokitika, New Zealand—a newly booming gold-mining town—when Walter Moody, an upper-class, twenty-eight year old Englishman, steps into the smoking room of the Crown Hotel. He has just arrived in town after a harrowing journey aboard the vessel Goodspeed, ...

Award Winner
The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton is the winner of the 2013 Man Booker Prize –. Catton adds distinction to her award as the youngest person to receive this award and her book is the longest ever chosen for such recognition.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  New Zealand's Gold Rush

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.