BookBrowse Reviews The End of the Point by Elizabeth Graver

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The End of the Point

by Elizabeth Graver

The End of the Point
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2013, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2014, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Spanning several decades and several generations, Elizabeth Graver's The End of the Point is a novel pulled together by a strong and unifying sense of place.

Some novels are propelled by a breakneck plot or suspenseful narrative; others are driven by character development. Still others, like Elizabeth Graver's The End of the Point, are pulled together by a strong and unifying sense of place. In this case, the place is Ashaunt Point on Massachusetts's Buzzards Bay, where the Porter family has summered for generations. At times, in fact, it seems as if the Porters have little to hold them together beyond this point of land, the place where they can be most at peace, most themselves.

Graver's novel spans several decades of the twentieth century and several generations of the Porter family. It opens (following a brief historical vignette in which the original Native Americans sign their land over to the colonists for a pittance) in 1942, at a time when American troops have (unofficially of course) been stationed on the point, patrolling the ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Buzzard's Bay

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.