Who said: "People who bite the hand that feeds them usually lick the boot that kicks them"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

People who bite the hand that feeds them usually lick the boot that kicks them

Eric Hoffer Eric Hoffer was born in New York City in 1902 to German immigrants. By the age of five he could read in both German and English, but when he was seven he suffered an accident that left him mysteriously blinded. When he was fifteen he regained his sight for reasons as inexplicable as why he lost it in the first place. From that time on he read voraciously, initially because he feared his recovery would be temporary. Following the death of his parents, he traveled to California in 1920 where he was employed as a migratory worker until the outbreak of World War II; he later recorded these experiences in his autobiography Truth Imagined.

Some sources say that he enlisted in the US Armed forces but was rejected on medical grounds, whether this is the case or not, he spent the war years at a naval shipyard in San Francisco, where he settled, educating himself in his own time and working odd jobs. In 1943, he started work as a longshoreman (a dock worker who loads and unloads ships) and remained so employed until he retired in 1967.

He wrote eleven books including The True Believer (1951), a study of fanaticism and mass movements.

Hoffer, affectionately known as the "longshoreman philosopher", died in 1983 but his name lives on through his books and also in the Eric Hoffer Award which highlights important voices that might otherwise not be heard through traditional publication avenues.


More quotes from Eric Hoffer

"A man is likely to mind his own business when it is worth minding. When it is not, he takes his mind off his own meaningless affairs by minding other people's business."

"For though ours is a godless age, it is the very opposite of irreligious."

"In times of change learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists."

"Rudeness is the weak man's imitation of strength."

"The best stimulus for running ahead is to have something we must run from."

"No matter what our achievements might be, we think well of ourselves only in rare moments. We need people to bear witness against our inner judge, who keeps book on our shortcomings and transgressions. We need people to convince us that we are not as bad as we think we are."

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.