BookBrowse Reviews The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Sandcastle Girls

A Novel

by Chris Bohjalian

The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian X
The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2012, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2013, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A love story set against the backdrop of the Armenian genocide

Chris Bohjalian's latest novel, The Sandcastle Girls, was inspired by his family's Armenian heritage. Much of the plot takes place against the backdrop of the Ottoman Empire's systematic elimination of the Armenian Christian population, known by later generations as the Armenian Genocide (see backstory). In a quote from the book, the author contends:

1915 is the year of the Slaughter You Know Next to Nothing About. The anniversary of its commencement, its centennial, is nearing. If you are not Armenian, you probably know little about the deportations and the massacres: the death of a million and a half civilians. Meds Yeghern. The Great Catastrophe. It's not taught much in school, and it's not the sort of thing most of us read before going to bed.

The author does a masterful job of educating readers about the Armenian genocide while creating a near-perfect work of historical fiction.

The Sandcastle Girls is a book within a book. The overlaying tale is of Laura Petrosian, a middle-aged American novelist who becomes obsessed with learning her grandparents' story. She recounts her life growing up in the United States, visiting her Armenian grandfather's home, which the rest of the family referred to as the "Ottoman Annex." She also relates her grandparents' mysterious words and actions - things she hadn't given much thought to as a child, but which make more sense as she comes to better understand their history.

Interwoven with Laura's first-person narrative is the text of the book she's writing: an account of her grandparents' meeting and subsequent romance in Aleppo, Syria, set against the backdrop of the Armenian genocide and the last days of the Ottoman Empire. Their love blossoms in spite of the terrible circumstances that surround its inception.

The plotlines for both story lines work equally well - a difficult task for any author to achieve. The contemporary and historical sections each have a different flavor, but both are well written and engaging with interesting, three-dimensional characters. I found the book difficult to put down, and the pace didn't flag as the author shifted from present to past and back again; I wanted to learn more about both stories.

The Armenian genocide plays a huge role throughout the novel but doesn't overwhelm the narrative. The main characters are either observers or describe events in the past; most of the truly gruesome scenes are not related. This has the effect of distancing readers from the most horrific aspects of the massacre - enlightening without too much intensity. Don't get me wrong, the author does recount some rather stomach-churning incidents, but these are relayed in a way as to allow readers a certain level of detachment.

My only quibble with the novel is that occasionally the love story becomes a little melodramatic. I imagine those who enjoy fictional romances will find the relationship between the main characters satisfying, while those who prefer that their novels steer away from sentimentality will find other aspects entertaining enough to overlook this minor weakness in an otherwise fine narrative.

Bohjalian will almost certainly have another entry on the bestseller lists with The Sandcastle Girls; the novel will appeal to a wide variety of readers, particularly those who enjoy historical fiction. Its layered themes and historical content also make it an ideal selection for book clubs.

Additional Info
To find out more about the story behind The Sandcastle Girls, read author Chris Bohjalian's takeon it.

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review was originally published in September 2012, and has been updated for the April 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.