MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Who said: "The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Bertrand RussellBertrand Arthur William Russell (1872-1970) was a British philosopher, logician, mathematician, historian, social reformist and pacifist (for which he was imprisoned during WWI). Along with G.E. Moore, Russell is generally recognized as one of the founders of analytic philosophy. He is also often credited with being one of the two most important logicians (a person who studies logic) of the twentieth century. In addition, Russell made significant contributions to a broad range of subjects including education, history, political theory and religious studies.

After a life marked by controversy, he was awarded the Order of Merit in 1949 and the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1950, "in recognition of his varied and significant writings in which he champions humanitarian ideals and freedom of thought." He is noted for his many anti-war and anti-nuclear protests and as a champion of free trade and anti-imperialism; for example, he campaigned against Hitler and for nuclear disarmament, and criticized Soviet totalitarianism and the USA's involvement in Vietnam.

Most bibliographies cite 80 or more works written by him, but that is a mere fraction of his total output. In 1983 McMaster University began publishing The Collected Papers of Bertrand Russell. The collection is currently up to 16 volumes with much more to come. Apparently, an additional three volumes are devoted to simply cataloguing his bibliography (the Russell archives at McMaster University hold more than 30,000 letters written by him). Of all his works, he is perhaps best remembered for his History of Western Philosophy (1945).

More quotes from Bertrand Russell:

  • Collective fear stimulates herd instinct.
  • We are faced with the paradoxical fact that education has become one of the chief obstacles to intelligence and freedom of thought.
  • There are two motives for reading a book: one, that you enjoy it; the other, that you can boast about it.
  • There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.