BookBrowse Reviews Tell the Wolves I'm Home by Carol Rifka Brunt

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Tell the Wolves I'm Home

A Novel

by Carol Rifka Brunt

Tell the Wolves I'm Home by Carol Rifka Brunt X
Tell the Wolves I'm Home by Carol Rifka Brunt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2012, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2013, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An uplifting debut novel about loss, love, and unlikely friendships in the midst of the 1980s AIDS epidemic

Tell the Wolves I'm Home is a literary pleasure read. The crisp, short chapters and slightly funky (and therefore realistic) characters had me turning pages fast and late. Rifka Brunt's story treats a potentially morbid central topic with a surprisingly light touch. In her hands, the AIDS-related death of a homosexual family member becomes the inciting incident of a whimsical, unconventional love story. She weaves teenage awkwardness, 1980s AIDS paranoia and domestic drama into an inexplicably happy narrative. It was a bit unusual to feel not just a nostalgic sadness as I closed the book for the final time but also to feel strangely uplifted.

The dawn of the AIDS epidemic and the fanciful mental life of an introverted young teenage girl are two parallel forces propelling the narrative. Protagonist June Elbus, a fourteen-year-old who is more at home at a Renaissance fair than at school or a party, is devastated by the death of her adored uncle Finn Weiss and plagued by the stigma of its cause. Add to this a secret crush that she tries desperately to hide away, even from herself, and the sum is one lonely girl.

Each Elbus family member copes with Finn's illness and death in a separate way. June's father tries to play peacemaker and stabilizer while June's mother - Finn's sister - swings between bitterness, sorrow and anger. At times, the parents and children find themselves at odds with each other, hurt by conflicting emotional responses. June and her older sister Greta clash the most; their once-close sibling friendship is almost completely severed after Finn's death. June retreats into her lively imagination and her private grieving as Greta turns unpredictable - often mean - with rare turns of beseeching for a return of June's companionship.

As the sisters become more adversarial than familial, June's child life of medieval fantasy runs headlong into young adulthood. Finn's partner, Toby, a man June has never met and whom her family blames for killing Finn, secretly contacts her. What starts as June's reluctant, almost desperate attempt to gain access to memories of Finn and to his physical belongings ends up being an opportunity for a close friendship that brings joy, truth and resolution to two lonely souls.

Fiction of such quality reminds me that loneliness and loss don't have to isolate people; the strange and cruel don't have to isolate us. Unity can be born out of the most difficult of separations, and when our minds are open, these inevitabilities of life can foster unlikely but intimate friendships. Because of this (and other seeds planted by her work), I certainly hope Rifka Brunt's novel is just the first of many to come.

Reviewed by Stacey Brownlie

This review was originally published in July 2012, and has been updated for the June 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.