BookBrowse Reviews The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Art of Fielding

A Novel

by Chad Harbach

The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach X
The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2011, 528 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2012, 544 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A beautiful story about growing up, disillusionment, self-discovery, and the true meaning of friendship

When we're children, many of us are raised to believe we can be anything we want when we grow up if we work hard enough. There comes a time in most of our lives though, when we realize we just don't have the talent to be a famous writer, professional basketball player, concert violinist or [insert your dream here]; and that maturing (or dose of reality!) often occurs near the end of one's college years. In The Art of Fielding, first-time author Chad Harbach explores this evolution through the lives of five characters, and his depiction of the process feels so dead-on that it will almost certainly resonate with a great many readers. Please note: This is not a book about baseball; it's about finding one's true self, about discovering what one is meant to do with one's life (which may or may not align with one's dreams), and about the adaptations that must be made when life's path doesn't lead where one hoped.

The Art of Fielding is in many ways an old-fashioned, feel-good kind of novel, and consequently, the plot's trajectory is inevitable. Harbach expertly walks the fine line of creating a story that satisfies readers' expectations without allowing it to become overly predictable. Some of the narrative proceeds as one would anticipate, but there are enough variations and plot twists to keep it surprisingly fresh. The book is charming, warm, and sweet without becoming cloying.

One of the author's greatest strengths is his ability to create three-dimensional characters that generate empathy in his readers. Not only does one gain a fully fleshed-out mental picture of team captain Mike Schwartz, for example, but one gets to know him, like him, and really understand his struggle to find his place in the world. College president Guert Affenlight and his daughter Pella are equally well-drawn, complex characters. I finished the book feeling like these three were real people that I knew as friends and was sorry to leave behind. Slightly less developed are the book's other two main characters, and, unfortunately, minor characters aren't developed at all - they're mostly stereotypical college boys.

Readers should be aware that the book touches on subjects that some may consider controversial. One of the older college employees has an affair with a student, and the sexual orientation of the characters is a major theme throughout. Both heterosexual and homosexual encounters are detailed, and while explicit, the sex scenes are handled tastefully; they're more romantic than erotic. I suspect that most will find the author's treatment of these themes inoffensive, but those who are more conservative may wish to give this novel a pass.

It will be interesting to see what kind of audience The Art of Fielding attracts. I have many male friends who are eager to read the book because they think it's about baseball, and I suspect most of them will be disappointed from that standpoint. While baseball certainly plays an important role here, the novel is character-driven, which generally appeals more to female readers. However female readers may not pick it up because of its sports-themed title, and that would also be a mistake. This is an ideal book club selection, as it's an easy, quick read, the characters are appealing, and there's much discussion that can come from its themes.

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review was originally published in October 2011, and has been updated for the May 2012 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Baseball: An Early History

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World That We Knew
    The World That We Knew
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's sparkling prose and immersive descriptions of place summon readers into World War II...
  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Seine
    by Elaine Sciolino

    "A soulful, transformative voyage along the body of water that defines the City of Light."
    —Lauren Collins
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.