Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

BookBrowse Reviews It's Easier to Reach Heaven Than the End of the Street by Emma Williams

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

It's Easier to Reach Heaven Than the End of the Street

A Jerusalem Memoir

by Emma Williams

It's Easier to Reach Heaven Than the End of the Street by Emma Williams X
It's Easier to Reach Heaven Than the End of the Street by Emma Williams
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Dec 2009, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A personal account of life in Israel & Palestine by a British wife, mother and doctor - a 'must read' for anyone wishing to understand the situation's complexities

The conflict between the Israelis and the Palestinians is remote to most of us in the West - an abstract that one glosses over as one reads the morning paper.  We hear of the suicide bombers and the checkpoints and it's easy to dismiss these stories as just another act of violence in a place that's far, far away.  Emma Williams' book, It's Easier to Reach Heaven than the End of the Street, goes a long way toward bringing this conflict into our living rooms, helping us to understand its complexities and explaining its human toll, putting a face to those suffering its effects.

When the Intifada erupted in September 2000, Williams was in a unique position as a British doctor, wife and mother living in Jerusalem.  Her friends and co-workers included both Palestinians and Israelis, which allowed her to gather unvarnished opinions from both sides of the dispute. Using this inside information she completely captures the thoughts of the people with whom she mixed, relaying their opinions without judgment. She truly understands both points of view and how and why her friends' attitudes evolved over time, and unreservedly conveys this to her readers - vividly detailing the decline in relations between the two peoples as the violence escalated.

Her circumstances, as a parent in the midst of a potentially violent atmosphere, also provides a rarely heard perspective.  She talks about the difficulties of trying to maintain a normal life for her children while constantly being vigilant against attack.

We learned to avoid the danger zones, the shopping areas favored by bombers, the movies, theaters and malls – all out of bounds. Parking by the school in Mea Sharim was always a risk – there had been attacks in the area – but we had no choice.  Parking in a safer place would have meant a longer walk through a high-risk area; it was more dangerous to walk than to drive… Each set of parents developed a route, and a parking area, which they hoped lowered the likelihood of being bombed.  None of the ruses made much sense – one father favored a U-turn across three lanes of oncoming commuter traffic in order to avoid a road vulnerable to bombers – but taking some control of safety, making decisions about security, however faulty, helped. 

It's likely that some will criticize the book as being biased.  By the end, there's certainly no question where the author's sympathies ultimately lie.  There's a fine line, however, between bias and ugly truth.   Williams writes, for example, that between October 3, 2003 and Christmas of that year, no Israelis were killed, and the period was deemed to be "quiet."  During that same period, 117 Palestinians were killed and nearly 500 homes bulldozed, leaving thousands homeless. She further states that, in four years of fighting, the longest period when no Palestinians were killed by Israelis was one week:  July 9 – 15, 2003.  Those are facts, not opinions, but their inclusion and the context in which they're presented inevitably leads the reader to the conclusion that a disproportionate amount of violence was inflicted by Israeli forces.  Whether or not that can be deemed bias is open for debate. 

The book is densely packed with conversations, events and illustrations, making it a slow read; there's a lot here to absorb and understand.  It's also somewhat disheartening, as the author relays the downward spiral in relations between the two factions, leaving readers with very little hope that the situation will ease any time in the foreseeable future. Regardless, it's a valuable book for anyone who would like to understand the tensions between these two peoples, and the author's ability to boil down the situation's complexities into easily understandable and relatable prose makes It's Easier to Reach Heaven a must-read.



Continued from sidebar...

Palestinian Loss of Land 1946-2005
(multiple sources including PalestineMonitor.org)

four maps of shrinking Palestine


More Links
A short history of Palestine in the sidebar to The Collaborator of Bethlehem.
The Institute for Middle-East Understanding
Zionism-Israel.com
Alnakba.org


About the Author
Emma WilliamsEmma Williams studied history at Oxford and medicine at London University. She has worked as a doctor in Britain, Pakistan, Afghanistan, New York, South Africa and Jerusalem. She wrote for several newspapers and magazines about Palestinian-Israeli affairs and was a correspondent for the Spectator from 2000-2003. She and her family currently live in Belgrade.

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review first ran in the July 8, 2010 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Yom Ha'atzmaut & Al-Nakba

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked It's Easier to Reach Heaven Than the End of the Street, try these:

  • The Association of Small Bombs jacket

    The Association of Small Bombs

    by Karan Mahajan

    Published 2016

    About this book

    The Association of Small Bombs is an expansive and deeply humane novel that is at once groundbreaking in its empathy, dazzling in its acuity, and ambitious in scope.

  • The Patagonian Hare jacket

    The Patagonian Hare

    by Claude Lanzmann

    Published 2013

    About this book

    In these pages, Lanzmann composes a hymn to life that flows from memory yet has the rhythm of a novel, as tumultuous as it is energetic.

We have 10 read-alikes for It's Easier to Reach Heaven Than the End of the Street, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Another Word for Love
    Another Word for Love
    by Carvell Wallace
    "I write about beautiful things because I live in a country that has tried to kill me and every...
  • Book Jacket
    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson
    Michelle Collins Anderson's novel The Flower Sisters, based in part on a real tragedy that occurred ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Who Said...

Be sincere, be brief, be seated

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.