Who said: "More Anagrams"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Following on from the anagrams featured in the last issue of "BookBrowse Recommends", here are a few more:

Public notices:
Slot machines = Cash lost in 'em
The public art galleries = Large picture halls, I bet

Culinary commentary:
Semolina = Is no meal

Matter of fact:
Snooze alarms = Alas! No more Z's
Animosity = Is no mmity
Contradiction = Accord not in it

Political:
Ronald Reagan = A darn long era.
Leroy Newton Gingrich = Yon right-winger clone.
Margaret Thatcher = That great charmer.
The Conservative Party = Teacher in vast poverty

Mind-boggling! (and, just in case you're wondering, we did double check that this is accurate!)

To be or not to be; that is the question. Whether tis nobler in the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune. (Hamlet by William Shakespeare, Act III, scene I).
=
In one of the Bard's best-thought-of tragedies, our insistent hero, Hamlet, queries on two fronts about how life turns rotten.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...
  • Book Jacket
    News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles
    Paulette Jiles brings the landscape of late 19th century Texas to life in this novel long-listed for...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.