BookBrowse Reviews Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Parrot and Olivier in America

by Peter Carey

Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey X
Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2010, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2011, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A novel loosely based on the life of Alexis de Tocqueville from two-time Booker Prize-winner Peter Carey

Parrot and Olivier in America is a rich, intricate historical novel which places two very different foreigners in the middle of a completely alien society: American democracy in its infancy. Olivier is a spoiled young French aristocrat, a foppish prig unwillingly sent overseas by his worried parents. John Larrit (aka "Parrot") is the talented son of an English engraver, hired ostensibly to be Olivier's servant but in fact sent to keep him out of trouble. These dissimilar characters allow readers to take a step back from what they know of this early period in United States history to experience it from two disparate, contrasting viewpoints, creating a sense of freshness and nostalgia for a more innocent America, the land of opportunity where anything is possible.

Parrot and Olivier in America is loosely based on the life of Alexis de Tocqueville and his seminal work, Democracy in America. Peter Carey does a remarkable job of echoing Tocqueville's opinions without actually quoting him. He uses Olivier's musings to illustrate the genesis and formation of Tocqueville's observations:

"I strolled out on the jetty and peered into the mist and coal smoke... From this spectral effluence appeared the Phoenix, looming high, klaxon loud. On the starboard side, as it drifted silently toward the dock, stood what might have been the emblem of America: frock-coated, very tall and straight, with a high stovepipe hat tilted back from his high forehead. I thought this is the worst vision of democracy - illiterate, hard as wood, overdressed, uncultured, with that physiognomy I had earlier observed in the portrait of the awful Andrew Jackson - a face divided proudly in three equal parts: hairline to eyebrows, eyebrows to nose, lips to chin. In other words, the face of one who will never give any weight to the wisdom of his betters. To see the visage of their president is to understand that the farmer and the mechanic are the lords of the New World. Public opinion is their opinion; the public will is their will."

The book has been referred to as "Dickensian" by many reviewers, and the comparison is apt. The low-key, witty humor Carey imbues in the narrative, the multitude of quirky characters, and reliance on unlikely coincidence to further the plot all evoke the iconic author. And like Dickens's, Carey's novel is about more than the superficial story line; a layer of social commentary is embedded throughout.

In many ways Parrot and Olivier is also a coming of age novel, with each of the two men reaching maturity in the New World. The main characters gradually reverse roles as the novel progresses; Parrot transforms from cynic to idealist, while Olivier moves from innocent to pessimist. Their juxtaposition and metamorphosis form a key part of the plot, and it is masterfully accomplished. Olivier also seems to be a stand-in for a young United States and its experiment in democracy, and while Parrot remains optimistic about the country's prospects, Olivier sardonically predicts a future for it which, in fact, has largely come to pass.

Parrot and Olivier is not a fast read, as considerable narrative is devoted to the main characters' observations and the interpretation thereof. The plot tends to meander a bit and at times gets lost in digressions, tangents and discourse. That's not to say the book is ponderous - it is, in fact, endlessly entertaining - but it wouldn't be considered a page-turner by anyone's standards. It requires concentration and thought from its readers, and is therefore recommended for those in the mood for a more substantial reading experience - think literary steak versus ice cream.

A video interview with Peter Carey from Granta magazine on Vimeo:

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review is from the April 21, 2010 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.