Alexis de Tocqueville, author of Democracy in America: Background information when reading Parrot and Olivier in America

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Parrot and Olivier in America

by Peter Carey

Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey X
Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2010, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2011, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Alexis de Tocqueville, author of Democracy in America

This article relates to Parrot and Olivier in America

Print Review

Alexis-Charles-Henri Clérel de Tocqueville was born in Paris on July 29, 1805. His parents, both of aristocratic background, narrowly avoided the guillotine during the aftermath of the French Revolution, and were exiled to England. They were later able to return to France during the reign of Napoleon. His father supported the Bourbon monarchy, eventually becoming Prefect of Versailles in 1826 and made a peer by Charles X in 1827.

Tocqueville entered the College Royal in Metz in 1821, at the age of 16, to study philosophy, and it was during these years that he began having doubts about the role of the aristocracy's role in France's government. He moved to Paris in 1823 to study law, and in 1827 became apprentice magistrate at the Versailles Court of Law. His sympathies became increasingly liberal, and he began voicing the opinion that a decline in the aristocracy was inevitable.

During the July Revolution of 1830, Charles X abdicated and Louis-Philippe ascended the throne. Power shifted from the Bourbons to the Orleans family, and Tocqueville's father lost his peerage. Tocqueville himself was in a precarious position due to his own political views, and under the pretext of wanting to study prison reform in America he obtained permission to travel there with long-time friend Gustave de Beaumont in 1831. He hoped to gain knowledge about the budding democratic system that could be used to influence France's political development. The result of the excursion was Tocqueville's best-known work, Democracy in America.

The first part of the book, published in 1835, was a highly positive and optimistic account of American government and society, and was well received throughout Europe. In it, Tocqueville records his observations of American society from the perspective of a detached social scientist. He portrayed it as an equation that balanced liberty with equality, concern for the individual with concern for society. He maintained that hard work and money-making comprised the dominant ethic of the country, that the common man enjoyed an unprecedented level of dignity, and observed that commoners never deferred to elites. He contrasted this view with European society, in which, he felt, no one cared about making money. The lower classes had no hope of gaining more than minimal wealth, and the upper classes found it crass and vulgar to care about anything as common as money.

Published in 1840, the second volume of Democracy in America was more pessimistic, claiming that the result of equality in America was a "middling mediocrity" - a sort of mob rule where intellectualism is distained and the will of the commoner (i.e., the uneducated majority) becomes enacted.

The work was influential and well-regarded when published, and today is considered a foundational text of political and social science; it is assigned reading for most American students majoring in those fields. Tocqueville is widely quoted, and many of his predictions regarding America's future were prescient; he foresaw both the US Civil War and the rise of economic superpowers.

Tocqueville remained active in France's political life until Louis-Napoleon Bonaparte took over the government in a coup in 1851, which Tocqueville strongly opposed. After a brief imprisonment, he was barred from political office for refusing to swear allegiance to the new regime. He died of tuberculosis on 16 April 1859.

Filed under Books and Authors

Article by Kim Kovacs

This article relates to Parrot and Olivier in America. It first ran in the April 21, 2010 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join & Save $10!

Discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten. One-year membership: $29

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...
  • Book Jacket: My Heart Underwater
    My Heart Underwater
    by Laurel Fantauzzo
    Corazon — Cory — Tagubio is a Filipina-American teenager living with her family in ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Sun
    Black Sun
    by Rebecca Roanhorse
    Reading the first book in a series is always difficult because readers know that, by definition, it ...
  • Book Jacket: Somewhere in the Unknown World
    Somewhere in the Unknown World
    by Kao Kalia Yang
    Resettled refugees are mostly invisible. Their needs are rarely publicized and their struggles are ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.