MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld, Keith Thompson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld, Keith Thompson X
Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld, Keith Thompson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2009, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2010, 464 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Cindy Anderson
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Young Adults: The author of the Uglies series returns with the first installment of a steampunk series

Scott Westerfeld, author of the popular Uglies series for young adults, tries his hand at steampunk in Leviathan, an imaginative alternate-reality story featuring two teenagers who must cope with personal loss and isolation, and who learn the meaning of friendship in a time of war. But this book is no downer. Westerfeld takes readers along for the wild adventures of the two young protagonists. Written for a YA audience, Leviathan is a fun read for adults as well.

Alek and Deryn are 15, on the cusp of adulthood, but still young enough to hold onto the idealism, rebelliousness, and naiveté of youth. Young readers will see something of themselves in these characters, traits that transcend gender, nationality, time period, and the sci-fi setting of the book. Adult readers will appreciate the realism that Westerfeld imbues them with.

Alek is a well-meaning but lonely boy who hasn't had much experience in the world, having been protected from it all of his princely life. Deryn, who is masquerading as a boy in the British air service, also feels she has much to prove. Although she is more streetwise than Alek, she is too often reckless and overconfident. However, when she takes risks, they pay off. She has an affinity for flying Huxleys - hydrogen breathing, fabricated creatures built for air travel - and isn’t afraid to rope-climb across the side of a giant air whale at 1000 feet in the air.

Once Deryn's British airship crashes in Switzerland (where Alek and his guardians are hiding out) and the two young people meet, they must learn to work together despite their differences. Because Leviathan is the first of a planned four-part series, Alek and Deryn's relationship doesn't have a chance to develop much by the end of this first volume. But Westerfeld makes it clear that learning to trust and respect each other is an important beginning for these two, if any kind of friendship (or romance?) is going to grow.

As much as I liked Alek and Deryn, I found Dr. Nora Barlow to be the most intriguing character. Her bowler hat, cool demeanor, and droll humor make her an ideal steampunk character (see "Steampunk for Beginners" by Cherie Priest), and for me, she brought to mind Miss Veronica Hobbs from George Mann's The Affinity Bridge, who possesses similar wit and intelligence. In Leviathan, Dr. Barlow's calm wisdom is a refreshing change of pace from Alek's lack of guile, and Deryn's tendency to leap directly into the path of danger. Barlow is frequently the voice of reason, keeping the adults in line, and seeing the big picture. Although the answer isn't revealed in the book, one wonders if her keen senses are even fooled by Deryn's disguise.

Last, but not least, this book's wonderful full-page, black and white illustrations by Keith Thompson (see sidebar), who also drew the caricature map on the inside front and back covers, are a fantastic and useful addition to the novel. As they say, a picture is worth a thousand words. Younger readers will certainly find the black and white illustrations appealing, and I loved that they allowed me to visualize the many complex and wondrous machines and cross-bred creatures described in the text. I also found the jacket illustration by Sammy Yuen, Jr. to be quite captivating.

Leviathan is suitable for readers 12 and up.

Publishing Soon: Behemoth - the second volume in this four part series, publishing October 5, 2010.

Reviewed by Cindy Anderson

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in November 2009, and has been updated for the September 2010 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Red Letter Days
    by Sarah-Jane Stratford

    A striking novel about two daring women who escape McCarthy-era Hollywood for London.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.