MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Scott Westerfeld biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Scott Westerfeld
Photo credit: Anna Fischer

Scott Westerfeld

How to pronounce Scott Westerfeld: As it looks - wester-feld (not field)

Scott Westerfeld Biography

Scott Westerfeld is the author of eighteen novels. Five are for adults, and the other thirteen for young adults. He is best known for his four sets of books for young adults. The most recent is the Leviathan trilogy. It's a steampunk retelling of World War I, illustrated by the incomparable Keith Thompson.

Scott was born in Texas, and divides his time between New York City and Sydney, Australia.

Scott Westerfeld's website

This bio was last updated on 10/23/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

An interview with Scott Westerfeld in which he talks about Leviathan, his highly anticipated and extensively illustrated young adult steampunk novel.

This interview first appeared at Tor.com, and is reproduced with the gracious permission of the publisher.

The second part of this interview can be found here

The art of Leviathan, part 1:
An interview with Scott Westerfeld

by Irene Gallo

ImageLeviathan, Scott Westerfeld's highly anticipated and extensively illustrated young adult steampunk novel, releases today. Whenever I'd run into Scott over the past year or so he'd whip out his iPhone and excitedly show-off the latest drawings by Keith Thompson. After a few of these incidents it became clear that Keith wasn't just adding a few embellishments to the book but, with fifty drawings throughout, was helping to create the world of Leviathan.

Here is the first of two interviews on those drawings and the process behind them, this one with Scott talking about his dual role as author/art director. Come back Thursday for part 2, an interview with Keith Thompson.

Can you give us a quick description of Leviathan?

It's an alternate history of World War I, sent in a world in which Charles Darwin discovered DNA fifty years earlier. The Victorian Empire was built on the backs of fabricated species, while the Germanic peoples went the route of mechanics. So ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Scott Westerfeld at BookBrowse
Goliath jacket Behemoth (Leviathan) jacket Leviathan jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Scott Westerfeld but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Frank Beddor

    Frank Beddor

    Frank Beddor had already had a couple of intense careers, a professional skier (two-time freestyle world champion) and filmmaker (producer of the 1998 hit There’s Something About Mary) before deciding to become an ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Leviathan

    Try:
    The Looking Glass Wars
    by Frank Beddor

  • Kristin Cashore

    Kristin Cashore

    Kristin Cashore has written for The Horn Book Guide, The Looking Glass: An Online Children’s Literature Journal, and Children’s Literature in Education. She received a master’s degree in children’s ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Leviathan

    Try:
    Graceling
    by Kristin Cashore

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free

Discover books that
entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Last Train to Key West
    The Last Train to Key West
    by Chanel Cleeton
    The Last Train to Key West by Chanel Cleeton received very positive comments from our First ...
  • Book Jacket: Tokyo Ueno Station
    Tokyo Ueno Station
    by Yu Miri
    Kazu is a ghost, seemingly condemned to haunt one of Japan's busiest train stations, the grounds of ...
  • Book Jacket
    Delayed Rays of a Star
    by Amanda Lee Koe
    Amanda Lee Koe's Delayed Rays of a Star begins with a late-1920s photo of three women at a party in ...
  • Book Jacket: Sleepovers
    Sleepovers
    by Ashleigh Bryant Phillips
    In Ashleigh Bryant Phillips' debut story collection, Sleepovers, it can be difficult to keep tabs on...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Voyage of the Morning Light
    by Marina Endicott

    A sweeping novel set aboard a merchant ship sailing through the South Pacific in 1912.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
by Christy Lefteri

This moving, intimate, and beautifully written novel puts human faces on the Syrian war.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win The Wedding Thief

The Wedding Thief
by Mary Simses

Funny, soulful, and as sweet as buttercream, The Wedding Thief is the perfect summer read.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A S Louder T W

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.