BookBrowse Reviews The Invisible Mountain by Carolina De Robertis

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Invisible Mountain

by Carolina De Robertis

The Invisible Mountain
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2009, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2010, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Karen Rigby

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

An enchanting novel that brings Montevideo, Uruguay to life through three generations of women

In this rhapsodic debut by Carolina de Robertis, three women reveal bittersweet stories set against the backdrop of an "invisible mountain" - a play on the fact that Montevideo’s real mountain isn’t a mountain at all, but only a hill. The mountain can also be read as a metaphor for the private burdens mothers and daughters must carry. Between them, Pajarita, Eva, and Salomé experience: a move from the country to the city; child labor and sexual abuse; hospitalization; a marriage of convenience; birth; estrangement; the exhilarating re-discovery of a first (and now transgendered) childhood love; the publication of a first book; rebellion; political turmoil; prison rape; the loss of a daughter to adoption; reconciliation; and death. If the inclusion of these many life-changing events sounds intense, it is - but the multi-generational timeline allows for dramatic episodes, ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.