BookBrowse Reviews A Map of Home by Randa Jarrar

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Map of Home

by Randa Jarrar

A Map of Home
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2008, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2009, 305 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Karen Rigby

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Nidali is the Muslim equivalent of J.D. Salinger's Holden Caulfield, tender, caustic and wise in all the right moments

A Map of Home begins with the aftermath of Nidali's birth. Her father names her Nidal, thinking she's a boy, adding the "i" only after realizing his mistake. So begins a journey filled with expectation, chaos, love, music and strife. The novel could easily form the backbone for an independent film with its hyperbolic characters, dialogue zingers, rapid pacing, and everything from war to multiculturalism to a teenager's first sexual explorations. The territory covered in this debut is handled with grace by Jarrar, whose eye for imagery is equal to that of a cinematographer's: the pianos saved by Mama decorating the Texas yard, the announcement for Baba's poetry reading, Wonder Woman stickers adorning a headboard, a car burning in the desert, and even ordinary occurrences with the potential to become running gags, like the making of za'tar, burgers ...

Randa Jarrar was born in Chicago in 1978, and grew up in Kuwait and Egypt. She is a writer and translator whose award-winning fiction has appeared in Ploughshares as well as in numerous anthologies. Her translations from the Arabic have appeared in Words Without Borders: The World Through the Eyes of Writers; recently, she has translated Hassan Daoud’s novel, The Year of the Revolutionary New Bread-Making Machine. She currently lives in Ann Arbor, Michigan. A Map of Home is her first novel.

Interesting Link: "You are a 14-Year-Old Arab Chick Who Just Moved to Texas" by Randa Jarrar.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.