BookBrowse Reviews I Was Told There'd Be Cake by Sloane Crosley

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

I Was Told There'd Be Cake

by Sloane Crosley

I Was Told There'd Be Cake
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Apr 2008, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa A. Goldstein

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A strikingly original voice, chronicles the struggles and unexpected beauty of modern urban life

Sloane Crosley, according to her bio on the back of the book, wrote the cover story for the worst-selling issue of Maxim in the magazine's history. Chances are if she's broadcasting that fact, she'll put all her foibles on display and make us laugh at them along with her. Add that to the publisher's comparison that Crosley is a 21st century David Sedaris and Dorothy Parker, and the reader is prepared for a sly and humorous collection of essays.

While Crosley shows her youth, she lives up to the hype, taking the minutiae of everyday life and injecting it with her unique humor. She is a person to whom crazy things happen, like being locked out of her old and new apartments on the same day, or finding feces on her bathroom floor after a dinner party.

As she humorously describes situations that people can relate to, like the first real job after college, her (mis...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.