Beyond the Book: Background information when reading I Was Told There'd Be Cake

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

I Was Told There'd Be Cake

by Sloane Crosley

I Was Told There'd Be Cake by Sloane Crosley
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Apr 2008, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa A. Goldstein

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Did you know?

In addition to being a writer, Sloane Crosley (30 years old this August) holds a full-time job as a publicist for Vintage Books, a division of Random House, in New York where she has worked with Joan Didion, Toni Morrison, Jonathan Lethem and Dave Eggers, among others.

In the winter of 2004, Crosley emailed a group of friends about the story that later became "Fuck You, Columbus." One of the recipients of this email was an editor at The Village Voice. He told her that if she made it a little tighter and wrote an introduction, he would publish it. That was the start of her essay career. Prior to this, she had only written longer fiction (unpublished), but fell in love with essay writing.

I Was Told There'd Be Cake has been a New York Times bestseller since shortly after its release.

Crosley's web site features three dimensional dioramas based on her essays. The idea came from her essay "Christmas in July," in which she describes the Inuit diorama she and her dad made for a third-grade school project. Describing the dioramas, she says:

"The Plexiglas, divided into compartments, would replicate the experience of reading the essays. Since the essay paragraphs (hopefully) flow into each other, the dioramas are set up so that you can see the next scene while looking at the previous one. And when you’re done examining each compartment, you can look at the whole thing at one time.

Speaking of her first name to a reporter for the Chicago Tribune, she explains that "my family is Russian and, technically, my name means 'elephant' in Russian. This is a coincidence, but because I am neither obese nor big-eared, I can share this fact with strangers and it comes off as flirty." In fact, she was named for a character in a B movie with Charlton Heston.


Interesting Links
More about Sloane in the New York Observer.
Sloane speaks about one of her favorite books, The Secret Garden, on NPR.

This article is from the May 15, 2008 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.