BookBrowse Reviews I Was Told There'd Be Cake by Sloane Crosley

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

I Was Told There'd Be Cake

by Sloane Crosley

I Was Told There'd Be Cake by Sloane Crosley X
I Was Told There'd Be Cake by Sloane Crosley
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Apr 2008, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa A. Goldstein
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A strikingly original voice, chronicles the struggles and unexpected beauty of modern urban life

Sloane Crosley, according to her bio on the back of the book, wrote the cover story for the worst-selling issue of Maxim in the magazine's history. Chances are if she's broadcasting that fact, she'll put all her foibles on display and make us laugh at them along with her. Add that to the publisher's comparison that Crosley is a 21st century David Sedaris and Dorothy Parker, and the reader is prepared for a sly and humorous collection of essays.

While Crosley shows her youth, she lives up to the hype, taking the minutiae of everyday life and injecting it with her unique humor. She is a person to whom crazy things happen, like being locked out of her old and new apartments on the same day, or finding feces on her bathroom floor after a dinner party.

As she humorously describes situations that people can relate to, like the first real job after college, her (mis)adventures evoke memories of the iconic show Seinfeld. When talking about the difficulties of having a unique name, she recalls the various ways in which people ask about or mangle her name. Number 10 on the list is the 32 times "I have received an e-mail with my name spelled incorrectly in response to an e-mail originating from me and therefore making use of the correct spelling of my name and thus have passive-aggressively retaliated by leaving off the last letter of the sender's name in all future correspondence: 'Thanks for getting back to me, Rebecc.'"

Some essays are mere snapshots, with endings that leave one wondering what happened after the last line. Others start off being about one thing and cover a lot of ground before ending on an entirely different topic, but somehow it all seems to flow. Sometimes she ends with a zinger, yet it's not always successful, or for that matter, consistent. The essays are of varying lengths, which makes for unpredictable reading, and not necessarily in a good way. The casual reference to drugs is a bit disturbing, though perhaps for a twenty-something in New York, it's more commonplace than one might realize.

Ironically, there's no title essay, so where does the title come from? Like the lure of cake at the wedding Crosley attended, so the reader is drawn to this essay collection. Yet we are left with a relationship that, unlike Crosley's with her newly married friend, is sure to grow. Crosley may be young, but her talent is obvious, making it safe to predict that this book will be the first of many.

Reviewed by Lisa A. Goldstein

This review is from the May 15, 2008 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.