We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews The Outcast by Sadie Jones

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Outcast

by Sadie Jones

The Outcast by Sadie Jones X
The Outcast by Sadie Jones
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2008, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2009, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An emotionally powerful evocation of postwar provincial English society and a remarkably uplifting testament to the redemptive powers of love and understanding

The Outcast is the story of Lewis Aldridge, a troubled nineteen-year-old just returning to his family after a two-year stint in prison. Much of the book relates the series of events that eventually lead to Lewis's arrest, with the last third relating the aftermath of his homecoming.

The novel's framework is the 1950s middle-class stereotype which both American and UK readers will find familiar. The husband goes off to work every day; the wife's chief responsibilities are to look good and meet her spouse at the door with a drink and a smile when he returns. There are parties in the garden, tennis matches on the lawn, and everyone goes to church on Sunday. Jones deftly describes these clichéd scenes, but always with an eye toward exposing the hypocrisy that lies just below the surface. Conventional events become unconventional, gradually fading from light into darkness and violence. Because the reader is so familiar with the stereotype, they have an expectation of how the scene should play out. One of Jones's talents is taking that expectation and completely shattering it.

It's difficult to read this book from a modern viewpoint, as so much of what takes place in it would be unacceptable by today's standards. Knowing the escalating crises portrayed in the novel would likely be avoided (or at least ameliorated) today makes the reader almost painfully uncomfortable as one error in judgment leads to the next. It very nearly becomes overwhelming. The reader empathizes so completely with the main characters that there is a temptation to abandon the book, rather than see the situation deteriorate still further.

While much of the plot is banal, much of the writing is extraordinary. Overall, The Outcast is a promising debut novel. Jones's style is spare, yet detailed. Writing from an omniscient viewpoint, the author narrates the various characters' thought processes with incredible authenticity. One of the resonances is her portrayal of internal "conversations" the various characters have with themselves. They know they should do or say something to improve the situation … but then their own issues distract them or the moment passes, and they do nothing. Indeed, Lewis's decline is due as much to inaction as to action.

Many of Jones's characterizations are one-dimensional. Almost all the adults are cardboard representations of some character type: the distant father, the alcoholic mother, the bully, the abused wife. There are no surprises here; each acts as one would expect. The exception is the insight and depth with which Jones draws her protagonist, Lewis. Her development of this character is nothing short of brilliant. She manages to capture all the uncertainty and conflicting emotions inherent in teenagers in general, along with Lewis's particular anguish -- yet she does so without over sentimentalizing. She explains the impetus for his bad behavior, but does not justify it. Lewis is in pain, he's confused, but he doesn't come across as a victim. It's a fine balance, one that Jones achieves perfectly.

About the Author

Sadie Jones was born in London, England, the daughter of a poet and an actress.  Her father, Evan Jones, was born in Portland, Jamaica in 1927.  He grew up on a banana farm, eventually moving to the United States, and from there to England in the 1950s.  His most widely acclaimed work is "The Song of the Banana Man".  Sadie's mother, Joanna Jones, was featured as an extra in various television series, including The Avengers.

As a young woman, Sadie opted out of attending university, preferring instead to work an assortment of odd jobs (video production, temping, waiting tables) and to travel.  After visiting America, the Caribbean and Mexico, Sadie settled in Paris, where she taught English and wrote her first screenplay.  She eventually moved to London, where she currently resides with her husband, architect Tim Boyd, and their two children.  

Sadie wrote screenplays for fourteen years before producing The Outcast, her first novel.   Her writing credits are an eclectic mix, everything from episodes of BBC-TV shows to a feature film in 2004. 

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in April 2008, and has been updated for the April 2009 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Surrey

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Outcast, try these:

We have 7 read-alikes for The Outcast, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Sadie Jones
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray

    She took on titans, battled generals, and changed the world as we know it…

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.