Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Outcast

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Outcast

by Sadie Jones

The Outcast by Sadie Jones X
The Outcast by Sadie Jones
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2008, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2009, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Surrey

The landscape in which The Outcast is set plays a large role in the overall feel of the novel.  Much of the story takes place in the county of Surrey, just south of London.  Most of Surrey lies in the "Green Belt" (a ring of rural land around London protected from excess development), making it a popular place of residence for those commuting into London who can afford the high house prices.  With a population of about 1.1 million, Surrey is the most populated rural country in England, but there is still plentiful open space and large areas of woodland.  In fact, Surrey is the most wooded county in England, with over 1/5th of the land covered by woodland including some of the oldest woods in England.  Foot and bridle paths wind their way through much of the terrain, making walking and horseback riding popular pastimes, both with locals and those seeking a break from London. 

The region has been featured in many prominent books and films.   H.G. Wells's War of the Worlds was set in Surrey, as was much of Aldus Huxley's Brave New World.   Recent films shot in the area include The Omen (1976 version) as well as the opening battle scenes of Gladiator.   In the 2006 film The Holiday, Kate Winslet's character, Iris, lived in a cottage in Surrey, and many of the scenes were shot in the Surrey countryside.

Sadie Jones sets her stage in the west of Surrey, near the towns of Camberley and Farnham, popular with both commuters and military families, due to the various local military camps and the military college of Sandhurst (the British Army's equivalent of West Point).

Article by Kim Kovacs

This article was originally published in April 2008, and has been updated for the April 2009 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.