BookBrowse Reviews Beaufort by Ron Leshem

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Beaufort

by Ron Leshem

Beaufort by Ron Leshem X
Beaufort by Ron Leshem
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Dec 2007, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2009, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A debut novel that is by turns subversive and darkly comic, brutal and tender

Beaufort's narrator is Liraz "Erez" Liberti, a twenty-one year old Lieutenant in the Israeli Defense Force (IDF) responsible for a squad of thirteen young men. Liberti relates his experiences and those of his men as they staff an exposed Israeli outpost in Southern Lebanon shortly before and during its abandonment in 2000. Like many war stories, Beaufort focuses on the camaraderie that develops between the soldiers as they mature into men. It explores the men's lives and feelings as they face hours of isolation and boredom punctuated by periods of terror and violence, as well as the physical and emotional toll war takes on the men and their families.

This first-person account reads as if it were Liberti's diary, or a long letter home that Liberti will never mail. As such, the text is a stream-of-consciousness, particularly in the novel's beginning. It's raw, it's crass, it's slangy, and it's hard to follow. The first twenty or thirty pages can be very off-putting, and many readers will abandon it soon after starting because the style is so foreign. This is unfortunate, since it does settle down to a more narrative, coherent story after the initial two or three chapters, and once the reader adjusts to the author's style, they will discover a realistic and timely coming-of-age novel.

One distraction for some readers could be that almost all the characters in the book are males in their late teens or very early twenties. They talk the way men in this age-bracket do when in an unrestrained setting. There is lots of profanity, bravado and preoccupation with sex. Again, the initial exposure is a bit like a slap in the face or a cold shower; it's shocking. Readers sensitive to graphic language should take a pass on this one.

Beaufort is a beautifully crafted work of fiction that reads more like an autobiography than a novel. Lethem spent hundreds of hours interviewing Israeli solders stationed in Lebanon before Israel's withdrawal in 2000. The result is a tale that feels entirely authentic. It does exactly what good historical fiction should do – it educates the reader about a specific time and place, making them feel as if they're truly present. The reader develops tremendous empathy for the protagonist and his "kids" (as Liberti refers to his troops). The narrative draws the reader in completely.


About the Author: 32-year-old Ron Leshem is deputy director in charge of programming at Channel Two, Israel's main commercial television network. Like most Israeli men, he is a veteran of the Israel Defense Forces but spent his tour of duty as a self-described "pencil pusher" who never heard a shot fired in anger. Beaufort, published in Israel in 2005 as If Heaven Exists, spent 18 months on the bestseller lists, nine months at No.1 and, in 2006, won the Sapir Prize, Israel's top literary award. The film version of Beaufort, which Leshem coauthored with director Joseph Cedar, won the Berlin International Film Festival's Silver Bear for Best Director. Leshem lives in Tel Aviv and is at work on his second novel.

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review was originally published in February 2008, and has been updated for the February 2009 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.