BookBrowse Reviews The Zookeeper's Wife by Diane Ackerman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Zookeeper's Wife

A War Story

by Diane Ackerman

The Zookeeper's Wife
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2007, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2008, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A true story about the keepers of the Warsaw Zoo, who helped save hundreds of people from Nazi hands during World War II

Diane Ackerman typically takes as her subjects some of the more beautiful, mesmerizing, and sigh-inducing things on this earth, training her poet's pen on the magic of our five senses (A Natural History of the Senses), the mysteries of the brain (An Alchemy of Mind, 2004), the majesty of her garden (Cultivating Delight, 2001), the ecstasy and transcendence of play, (Deep Play, 1999), the activates of animals (The Moon By Whale Light, 1991), and romantic love (A Natural History of Love, 1990). She is known – and much beloved – for her deeply sensuous prose, her elaborate metaphor, her contagious delight in the world around her. So Ackerman's devoted readers may find it strange that she would now choose to write about one of the ugliest, most base and cruel events in the history of humanity. How could she possibly work her trademark style? Where could she ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.