BookBrowse Reviews The Zookeeper's Wife by Diane Ackerman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Zookeeper's Wife

A War Story

by Diane Ackerman

The Zookeeper's Wife
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2007, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2008, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A true story about the keepers of the Warsaw Zoo, who helped save hundreds of people from Nazi hands during World War II

Diane Ackerman typically takes as her subjects some of the more beautiful, mesmerizing, and sigh-inducing things on this earth, training her poet's pen on the magic of our five senses (A Natural History of the Senses), the mysteries of the brain (An Alchemy of Mind, 2004), the majesty of her garden (Cultivating Delight, 2001), the ecstasy and transcendence of play, (Deep Play, 1999), the activates of animals (The Moon By Whale Light, 1991), and romantic love (A Natural History of Love, 1990). She is known – and much beloved – for her deeply sensuous prose, her elaborate metaphor, her contagious delight in the world around her. So Ackerman's devoted readers may find it strange that she would now choose to write about one of the ugliest, most base and cruel events in the history of humanity. How could she possibly work her trademark style? Where could she ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.