BookBrowse Reviews French Women Don't Get Fat by Mireille Guiliano

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

French Women Don't Get Fat

The Secret of Eating for Pleasure

by Mireille Guiliano

French Women Don't Get Fat by Mireille Guiliano
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Dec 2004, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2007, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Out With Diet Foods, In With The 'French Paradox'!

You've no doubt heard of the 'French paradox'; the French eat well, drink well but still, in general, remain remarkably slim - how do they do it? Mireille Guiliano will show you how - and it certainly doesn't involve paying for overpriced diet foods, pills or any of the other products that Americans spend $50 billion dollars on each year (see sidebar)!

Guiliano's advice is far from revolutionary, but that of course is the point - she's not advocating the new extreme this or that, just simple, commonsense eating and lifestyle habits that will keep you healthy and fit.

Of course, a pedant would be forced to suggest that a more accurate title for Guiliano's book would be "Most French Women Didn't Used to Get Fat". The reality is that France is suffering an obesity "epidemic" just like much of the developed world because of fast foods, the ubiquity of unhealthy snacks and sedentary lifestyles. In fact, according to a 2006 New York Times article, if French waistlines continue on their current trajectory, the French will match the USA's current 65% overweight rate by 2020. But, it seems the French government are doing a lot more to fight back against the problem than the USA, with bills passed to prevent misleading advertising, tax unhealthy foods and take soda and snack-selling vending machines out of schools; and on France's National Weighing Day "a voluntary army of hundreds of pediatricians fanned out to more than 80 cities to weigh, measure, interrogate and enlighten."

This review is from the January 10, 2008 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.