Mireille Guiliano biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Mireille Guiliano
Photo by Andrew French

Mireille Guiliano

How to pronounce Mireille Guiliano: Meer-ray Julie-ano

Mireille Guiliano Biography

Mireille Guiliano is the former president and CEO of Clicquot, Inc., the firm she helped found in 1984 and was its first employee. Today she is recognized as the driving force in building the company's highly regarded national organization, developing its portfolio of ultra-premium wines, and igniting the remarkable growth and brand recognition of its flagship Champagne Veuve Clicquot.

One of the few women who have reached the top echelon of the wine and spirits industry, Mireille wrote the initial marketing plan for Veuve Clicquot in America and directed its implementation. She is credited with growing the Champagne's top image and overseeing a remarkable pattern of doubling sales. Under her leadership, Veuve Clicquot's market share in America has grown from less than one percent to more than 21% today.

Guiliano has been called a champion of women in business and has been profiled in numerous publications. She is active in the Committee of 200 and works with other groups promoting business opportunities and education for women. She frequently presents nationally and internationally on business topics, especially related to the luxury goods sector, as well as on wine. Guiliano is often a guest on radio and television across America and abroad, and is a sought-after interviewee and hostess.

Guiliano has been contributing articles on food, wine, travel and lifestyle for years to a wide range of publications, including Town & Country and The Quarterly Review of Wines. Her book, French Woman Don't Get Fat (2005) has been translated into ten languages.

Educated in Paris, where she studied French and English literature at the Sorbonne and languages at the Institut Supérieur d'Interprétariat et de Traduction, Guiliano holds the French equivalent of a master's degree in English and German and certification as a translator/interpreter. She also has a command of Italian and several other languages.

She first arrived in America as an exchange student in Boston and returned early in her professional career. She currently resides in Manhattan with her husband, Edward, president of New York Institute of Technology, and makes frequent trips to their home in Paris

Mireille Guiliano's website

This bio was last updated on 03/20/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Mireille Guiliano answers the questions on so many minds including; Do you need scales to stay slim? Why don't French women get fat? And can champagne make you slim!

Does Champagne make you slim?

MG: Wouldn't that be wonderful. It seems everyone would like a silver bullet; the magic potion that will melt away pounds. Champagne is a kind wine made from mostly red grapes and is relatively low in histamines and offers some health benefits, but it certainly contains calories, although less than white or red wine. What is distinctive about Champagne is that it is sipped in moderation. It is full-flavored, with bubbly charm and is almost a state of mind. A glass or two -- say, 3 ounces, 5 ounces, or even 8 ounces total -- makes for a full and pleasurable experience. I don't run into people guzzling Champagne like beer or soda. And I don't run into people sipping Champagne unaccompanied by some food, such as hors d'oeuvres or a meal.

So, the direct answer to your question is that while Champagne doesn't make me slim, it gives me pleasure and perhaps keeps me away from some high calorie, liquid overindulgences that would make me fat.

You're warning of pastry, chocolate and ice cream. Don't you have a ravenous appetite, sometimes?

MG: I love pastry, chocolate and ice cream and eat them all the time. How much is enough, though? I believe the first two or ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Mireille Guiliano at BookBrowse
Women, Work & the Art of Savoir Faire jacket French Women for All Seasons jacket French Women Don't Get Fat jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Mireille Guiliano but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Julia Child

    Julia Child

    Julia Child was born in Pasadena, California. She was graduated from Smith College and worked for the OSS during World War II in Ceylon and China, where she met Paul Child. After they married they lived in Paris, where she ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    French Women Don't Get Fat

    Try:
    My Life in France
    by Julia Child

  • Rosie Daley

    Rosie Daley

    Rosie Daley was born in New Jersey. As one of thirteen children, she shared the responsibility of cooking for her large family. She has worked in produce stores, health-oriented cafés, major commercial restaurants, and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    French Women Don't Get Fat

    Try:
    The Healthy Kitchen
    by Rosie Daley

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Code Breaker
    The Code Breaker
    by Walter Isaacson
    What makes humans human? It's a mystery that has inspired philosophers and driven scientific ...
  • Book Jacket: Genesis
    Genesis
    by Guido Tonelli
    Popular science books represent an important niche in non-fiction. They build a bridge between ...
  • Book Jacket: Buses Are a Comin'
    Buses Are a Comin'
    by Charles Person, Richard Rooker
    Charles Person was just 18 years old in 1961 when he became the youngest of the first wave of '...
  • Book Jacket: Firekeeper's Daughter
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Angeline Boulley's young adult novel Firekeeper's Daughter follows 18-year-old Daunis — ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Girl in His Shadow
by Audrey Blake
The story of one woman who believed in scientific medicine before the world believed in her.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Theater for Dreamers
    by Polly Samson

    A spellbinding tour-de-force about the beauty between naïveté and cruelty, artist and muse.

  • Book Jacket

    Crossing the River
    by Carol Smith

    A powerful exploration of grief that combines memoir, reportage, and lessons in how to heal.

Who Said...

The longest journey of any person is the journey inward

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F A C Starve A F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.