BookBrowse Reviews Going Postal by Terry Pratchett

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Going Postal

A Discworld Novel

by Terry Pratchett

Going Postal by Terry Pratchett X
Going Postal by Terry Pratchett
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2004, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2005, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A deeply satisfying comedy about a man sent to a fate worse than death: the post office

From the book jacket: Set in Pratchett's wonderfully crazed city of Ankh-Morpork, Going Postal hilariously reflects the plight of post offices the world over as they struggle to compete in an era when e-mail has stolen much of the glamour from the postal trade.

Comment: It's been a long time since I laughed as much reading a book as I did reading Going Postal. Actually, to be totally accurate, I didn't read Going Postal, I listened to the excellent 12 hour audio book read by Stephen Briggs. Going Postal is Terry Pratchett's 29th book in the Discworld series but there's absolutely no need to have read anything else in the series to appreciate this wonderful satire of the postal service, corporate corruption, stamp collecting and so much else. Despite having more than 35 million books in print Pratchett remains relatively unknown in the USA. You can browse an exclusive excerpt at BookBrowse.

For Pratchett fans: Don't miss Thud - Pratchett's 30th Discworld novel, published in hardcover last month.

This review is from the October 19, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.