MLA Platinum Award Press Release

World of Wonders: Background information when reading The Electric Woman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Electric Woman

A Memoir in Death-Defying Acts

by Tessa Fontaine

The Electric Woman by Tessa Fontaine X
The Electric Woman by Tessa Fontaine
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2018, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2019, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

World of Wonders

This article relates to The Electric Woman

Print Review

In her memoir, The Electric Woman, Tess Fontaine recounts her experiences working for a five-month long season with World of Wonders, the last traditional traveling sideshow in the United States.

As the name implies, sideshows are smaller acts that are part of a larger fair or circus. According to the International Independent Showmen's Museum, sideshows in the United States had their origins in the Chicago World Fair of 1893. Smaller permanent fairs, annual state fairs and traveling shows emerged after the World Fair closed, and sideshows were part of the offerings from the start. At one time, hundreds toured the country.

Sideshows have always featured performers who had unusual physical talents, such as contortionists or those who could swallow swords or eat fire. In the beginning, they relied heavily on displaying those with physical deformities such as dwarfism or giantism. As movies and television gained popularity and as the public's sensibilities regarding those with disabilities changed, sideshows lost their appeal and mostly died out due to lack of demand and the inability to compete with glitzier entertainment.

Going against the trend, at a time when other side shows were dying out, the World of Wonders was started by side show veteran Ward Hall and his partner Chris Christ in 1966. It has persisted, touring fairs and carnivals for over 50 years in spite of shrinking crowds. Indeed, Fontaine's book emphasizes how the group is always on the verge of financial collapse. She describes how stressful something as ordinary as a flat tire can be to the organization, since arriving late to a fair would incur a fine, and a fine would wreck their precarious budget and force permanent closure. Tommy Breen, the show's "talker," (the person out front who draws an audience into the show, promising they'll be amazed by the various acts) joined the show in 2005. Now well into his 80s, Hall and Christ handle the show's bookings while Breen manages the personnel and day-to-day operations. World of Wonders has been featured in a Smithsonian exhibit and has been the subject of several movies and documentaries.

The World of Wonders' current version features two separate attractions with multiple acts. According to the website, where videos of acts can also be seen, The Amazement Show "features 10 astonishing illusions and jaw-dropping acts, including sword swallowers, fire eaters, trick ropers, contortionists, circus hula hoopers, snake charmers, a strongwoman, and more!" The Escape Explosion "kicks off with a bit of comedy and a little magic, as crowds gather to see our escape artist trio attempt a classic Whiskey Barrel Escape. Things get more serious and more mysterious as they move into an explosive whip cracking performance straight out of the Wild West. Then, in a grand finale conclusion, one of our devious daredevils flirts with death, working to outsmart a strait jacket while suspended upside-down by the ankles from a three-story aerial rigging."

Article by Kim Kovacs

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Electric Woman. It originally ran in May 2018 and has been updated for the May 2019 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine ...
  • Book Jacket: The Revisioners
    The Revisioners
    by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
    The chapters of Margaret Wilkerson Sexton's second novel, The Revisioners, alternate between three ...
  • Book Jacket: Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen
    Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen
    by Dexter Palmer
    The year is 1726 and the sleepy town of Godalming has been rocked by scandal. Called to the bedside ...
  • Book Jacket: Life Undercover
    Life Undercover
    by Amaryllis Fox
    Life Undercover, a riveting true-adventure memoir, reveals how and why a young woman decides to work...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Lost Man
by Jane Harper

"Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
—BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Lady Clementine
    by Marie Benedict

    An illuminating look at one of history's most unusual and extraordinary women, Clementine Churchill.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.