Storyboarding: Background information when reading The Animators

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Animators

A Novel

by Kayla Rae Whitaker

The Animators by Kayla Rae Whitaker X
The Animators by Kayla Rae Whitaker
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2017, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2017, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte
Buy This Book

About this Book

Storyboarding

This article relates to The Animators

Print Review

Star Wars StoryboardIn The Animators, best friends Sharon and Mel spend hours hunched over their artwork that will form the basis of an animated movie. "I know a day of work has been really good when I have to look up from the board and recall who I am and what I'm doing," Sharon says. That "board" that she refers to is one of a series of images that together make up whatever project the duo happen to be working on.

Storyboarding is the first element in the production of a whole range of projects – from animated movies to television commercials and even software programs. It is a series of rough sketches that are presented in sequence to indicate storyline and forward movement. In animated movies such as Sharon and Mel's Nashville Combat, these storyboard images form the first building blocks from which the final movie is made.

Storyboard TemplateStoryboard drawings are usually very roughly sketched and are not used as the basis for the final animation. Instead these drawings are more instructional, essentially like a blueprint for the movie (or a section of a movie) conveying how the characters grow and develop. Notes are also scribbled on the storyboard, sometimes to explain the development of the plot, and other times to indicate where the light and action should come from and how they will be used. Like visual instruction manuals, storyboards are usually tacked on a wall as a visual so everyone can see the entire process from beginning to end.

Storyboarding is also where potential problems that could manifest later can be caught, thus saving expensive production time and effort. This is why, in addition to expensive animation movies, this tool is also used to tease out large-scale software programs. Walt Disney created the first storyboards for his iconic Steamboat Willie Mickey Mouse short film.

Steamboat Willie Storyboard

Storyboard panel from Star Wars, by artist Joe Johnston, courtesy of screencrush.com
Example of a Storyboard Template
Storyboard from Steamboat Willie, courtesy of artofdisney.canalblog.com

Article by Poornima Apte

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Animators. It originally ran in February 2017 and has been updated for the September 2017 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
The Half-Life of Everything
by Deborah Carol Gang

A beautifully written and uplifting debut novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.