Hydroelectric Power: Run-of-the-River Projects: Background information when reading The Wallcreeper

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Wallcreeper

by Nell Zink

The Wallcreeper by Nell Zink X
The Wallcreeper by Nell Zink
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Oct 2014, 200 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte
Buy This Book

About this Book

Hydroelectric Power: Run-of-the-River Projects

This article relates to The Wallcreeper

Print Review

The Wallcreeper shows how complicated even seemingly benign environmental projects can be.

Three Gorges DamFor example, the hydroelectric projects discussed in The Wallcreeper are what are known as run-of-the-river. They are smaller and carried out without the creation of dams. ROR stations are seemingly benign and widely perceived as less environmentally damaging than their larger cousins such as the Three Gorges Dam project in China where entire communities were displaced.

ROR diagramLike any hydroelectric power station, the ROR model also works by channeling the force of flowing water to create electricity. While the principle can be used on any river, it is obvious that for the largest amount of power to be generated, one needs both volume and height. Here's how an ROR plant works: water is diverted from a fast-flowing river to a holding station called a weir that is at a certain height way above the generating power plant. The water then flows down, following the principle of gravity, through a pipe called the penstock and made to work turbines, which then generates electricity. The water is finally released back to the river.

Niagra HydroelectricIt should be noted that while the ROR model might be smaller than large dam projects, they're still intrusive and not without their downsides. For example, the alteration of water flow by diversion does cause significant changes to the river's ecosystem. Water temperature, depth and vegetation can all morph in different ways affecting fish populations. Also, while large dams might not be needed for ROR, a supporting infrastructure to create power stations and access roads, is required. These projects also don't produce as much power as their larger brethren - the difference of output between the two can often be described in terms of orders of magnitude.

A video that shows how run-of-the-river works:



Panorama of the Three Gorges Dam, courtesy of Shizhao
Diagram of a run-of-the-river project, courtesy of cleantechinvestor.com
Hydroelectric power at the Robert Moses Generating facility at Niagra Falls, courtesy of Dickbauch

Article by Poornima Apte

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Wallcreeper. It first ran in the October 15, 2014 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...
  • Book Jacket: Where the Light Enters
    Where the Light Enters
    by Sara Donati
    In this thrilling follow-up to The Gilded Hour, doctors Sophie and Anna Savard take on a baffling ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.