Hydroelectric Power: Run-of-the-River Projects: Background information when reading The Wallcreeper

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Wallcreeper

by Nell Zink

The Wallcreeper by Nell Zink X
The Wallcreeper by Nell Zink
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Oct 2014, 200 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte
Buy This Book

About this Book

Hydroelectric Power: Run-of-the-River Projects

This article relates to The Wallcreeper

Print Review

The Wallcreeper shows how complicated even seemingly benign environmental projects can be.

Three Gorges DamFor example, the hydroelectric projects discussed in The Wallcreeper are what are known as run-of-the-river. They are smaller and carried out without the creation of dams. ROR stations are seemingly benign and widely perceived as less environmentally damaging than their larger cousins such as the Three Gorges Dam project in China where entire communities were displaced.

ROR diagramLike any hydroelectric power station, the ROR model also works by channeling the force of flowing water to create electricity. While the principle can be used on any river, it is obvious that for the largest amount of power to be generated, one needs both volume and height. Here's how an ROR plant works: water is diverted from a fast-flowing river to a holding station called a weir that is at a certain height way above the generating power plant. The water then flows down, following the principle of gravity, through a pipe called the penstock and made to work turbines, which then generates electricity. The water is finally released back to the river.

Niagra HydroelectricIt should be noted that while the ROR model might be smaller than large dam projects, they're still intrusive and not without their downsides. For example, the alteration of water flow by diversion does cause significant changes to the river's ecosystem. Water temperature, depth and vegetation can all morph in different ways affecting fish populations. Also, while large dams might not be needed for ROR, a supporting infrastructure to create power stations and access roads, is required. These projects also don't produce as much power as their larger brethren - the difference of output between the two can often be described in terms of orders of magnitude.

A video that shows how run-of-the-river works:



Panorama of the Three Gorges Dam, courtesy of Shizhao
Diagram of a run-of-the-river project, courtesy of cleantechinvestor.com
Hydroelectric power at the Robert Moses Generating facility at Niagra Falls, courtesy of Dickbauch

Article by Poornima Apte

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Wallcreeper. It first ran in the October 15, 2014 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.