Popular German Crime Writers: Background information when reading The Watcher

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Watcher

A Novel of Crime

by Charlotte Link

The Watcher by Charlotte Link X
The Watcher by Charlotte Link
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2014, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2015, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Popular German Crime Writers

Print Review

Thanks to authors like Jo Nesbo, Karin Fossum, and Henning Mankell, not to mention Stieg Larsson, American readers have become quite familiar with contemporary Scandinavian thrillers and novels of psychological suspense. As The Watcher demonstrates, however, the Nordic countries hardly have a monopoly on this genre, and in recent years several novels by contemporary German thriller writers have begun to hit the English-speaking market. Here are a few names to look for:

German Crime Writers

From left to right, top to bottom:
Petra Hammesfahr, Nele Neuhaus,
Andrea Maria Schenkel, Jan Costin Wagner

Petra Hammesfahr is a prize-winning author whose novels have garnered comparison to the works of Ruth Rendell and Patricia Highsmith. Hammesfahr's themes include the intersections of childhood innocence with adult horrors. Her novels The Sinner and The Lie have both been published in English by Bitter Lemon Press.

Nele Neuhaus has become well known in her native Germany and internationally for a series featuring police detectives Pia Kirchhoff and Oliver von Bodenstein. Two of these novels—Snow White Must Die and Bad Wolf—have been published in English to significant acclaim.

Andrea Maria Schenkel published her debut novel in 2006. The thriller, based on a real-life 1920s murder in Bavaria, was published in English as The Murder Farm in 2008 (and is being re-released in 2014). Her second novel, also based on real historical events, was published in English as Ice Cold. Schenkel was the first author ever to win the German Crime Prize for Best Thriller in two consecutive years.

Jan Costin Wagner is a German native, but his novels often seem like Scandinavian thrillers because they are set in Finland and feature haunted police detective Kimmo Joentaa. Wagner's wife is Finnish, and he divides his time between Finland and Germany. Wagner's first work to be published in English was Ice Moon, followed by Silence, The Winter of the Lions, and Light in a Dark House.

Picture of Petra Hammesfahr from Bitter Lemon Press
Picture of Nele Neuhaus from Goodreads
Picture of Andrea Schenkel from author website
Picture of Jan Costin Wagner by Sven Teschke

Article by Norah Piehl

This article was originally published in June 2014, and has been updated for the July 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.