China's One-Child Policy: Background information when reading The Scavenger's Daughters

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Scavenger's Daughters

Tales of the Scavenger's Daughters, Book One

by Kay Bratt

The Scavenger's Daughters by Kay Bratt X
The Scavenger's Daughters by Kay Bratt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Aug 2013, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
China's One-Child Policy

Print Review

The scavenger in The Scavenger's Daughters adopts many unwanted Chinese girls and adds them to his growing family. The casting away of girls has been noted as one of the many devastating impacts of China's one-child policy.

More than 30 years ago, China implemented a program where couples were allowed to have only one child with some exceptions: in villages, for example, you were allowed another if the first was a girl. Critics of this harsh rule have pointed to increased female infanticide, forced abortions and sterilizations, and abandoned children. Many Chinese girls have been adopted around the world and charities expressly formed to foster a better understanding of Chinese culture among these children and their adoptive parents. Officials in favor of the mandate have pointed out that a country whose population is more than 1.3 billion can ill afford to grow at a faster rate. They claim that the law has prevented 400 million additional births from taking place and decreased strains on the environment and scarce resources. While the law has been unpopular, a number of Chinese, especially in urban centers where career pressures are strong, have embraced it.

One-child Policy Poster Violation of the rules can lead to stiff fines and entire bureaucracies have been developed to enforce the law and to collect associated penalties. The fines provide a substantial source of income to local governments – in 2012 alone, 19 province-level governments in China collected $2.7 billion in fines. The fees are prohibitive and can range from three to ten times a family's annual income. Children born outside of the allotment are undocumented and not eligible for government benefits. An unfortunate side effect of the law is that the rich are able to pay their way out of the system while the poor are left to bear the brunt.

China's population is forecast to peak by 2020 at around 1.4 billion before declining rapidly, according to economists at Merill Lynch, Bank of America. People aged 65 and above are likely to reach 29 percent of the population by 2050, from 9 percent in 2011. The stringent one-child policy means that, as the population ages there won't be enough young labor able to take on growth. A shrinking workforce supporting older dependents will be a challenge for an economy that has enjoyed impressive growth for a while.

In light of these worries, the Chinese government is expected to slowly ease the policy later in 2013. Policymakers are deliberating whether to allow couples, where one parent is an only child, to have two children. Currently, both parents must be sole children to be eligible for a second child. The government is also assessing whether to allow all families to have two children after 2015.

This article is from the October 2, 2013 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.