BookBrowse Reviews The Scavenger's Daughters by Kay Bratt

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Scavenger's Daughters

Tales of the Scavenger's Daughters, Book One

by Kay Bratt

The Scavenger's Daughters by Kay Bratt X
The Scavenger's Daughters by Kay Bratt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Aug 2013, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Spanning China's history from the Cultural Revolution in the '60s to the present, The Scavenger's Daughters is a heart-warming tale of family and redemption.

Most BookBrowse readers gave high marks to this story set during China's Cultural Revolution. Here's what they had to say: During the Chinese Cultural Revolution, infant girls were often abandoned because of sickness, physical challenges, or just because they were girls. Benfu, who makes his living scavenging landfills, finds these girls and brings them home to be loved and raised. They are given flower names and are thought of as a flower garden by Benfu and his wife (Mary Jane D). The Scavenger's Daughters is inspired by a true story about the redemption of the human spirit through the life of one couple who serve as an example of what a family could be even under the poorest circumstances (Gail G).

Readers found the story absorbing and are looking forward to the next book in the series:

Kay Bratt's cleverly titled novel fills the reader with images of refuse, dirt, and stench. How could any reader be lured into choosing this book which seemingly promises pages of depressive, downtrodden characters ambling from one overwhelming hopelessness to another? But a closer examination of the word "scavenger" reveals multiple layers of meaning. It shows how salvaging something destined to be trash can transform it by adding value. I was richly rewarded by this read! (Audrey C). The author leaves enough unfinished in the lives of the characters to encourage the reader to continue the series. I look forward to reading the other books as they become available (Doris K).

Many appreciated the insight into Chinese culture:

Although The Scavenger's Daughters is set in the context of Mao's Cultural Revolution and its aftermath, the lessons this story teaches are valuable in all societies, political environments, and religions. I enjoyed learning the details about the impact Mao's policies have had in the mindset of modern-day Chinese (Kathleen S). The setting for this book is modern day China. However, the prologue and frequent references to the Cultural Revolution make a strong comparison between these two times. This could lead to an interesting discussion of the lasting effects of the Cultural Revolution on the people of China. Consequently it would be a good read for a book club or anyone interested in historical fiction (Doris K).

The book is not without its flaws, say some:

It seemed like the author was trying a bit too hard to give each character qualities that could represent a particular group of people (example, physically disabled or altruistic government official) rather than making me feel that they were real individuals. Even so, I found the book entertaining and believe that it has a message that everyone needs to hear (Kathleen S). Some of the dialogue just didn't ring true and I have read many other novels about being a girl in China. That having been said, I couldn't stop reading The Scavenger's Daughters and am intrigued by the fact that it is the first in a forthcoming series. I look forward to reading the next book, both to see if the writing improves, but more important, because I've grown attached to the characters (Kathleen W).

Overall, many found the insights into China coupled with a heart-warming story to be a winner:

The Scavenger's Daughters is an engaging look at the cultural and economic differences that resulted from the Cultural Revolution, and is also a heart-warming drama and love story all rolled into one (Darshell S). This book is a smooth read and would particularly appeal to young adults and adolescents (Lynne G). Although the subject is not "feel good," the book is well-written, the characters well-drawn and the content informative and engaging. I have already recommended it to co-workers and library patrons, and I am eagerly awaiting the next book in the series (Barb W). I have told several of my friends that they need to read this book and I will probably have it as one if my picks for my book club. A read you shouldn't miss (Joy T).

This review is from the October 2, 2013 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  China's One-Child Policy

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.