BookBrowse Reviews Message from an Unknown Chinese Mother by Xue Xinran

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Message from an Unknown Chinese Mother

Stories of Loss and Love

by Xue Xinran

Message from an Unknown Chinese Mother by Xue Xinran X
Message from an Unknown Chinese Mother by Xue Xinran
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2011, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2012, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Julie Wan

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Powered by love and by heartbreak - will stay with readers long after they have turned the final page.

In detailing the tragic stories of Chinese women forced to give up their baby girls, Xinran demonstrates not only her relentless journalistic instinct but also her capacity for human understanding. For example: On a bus ride one day, when a stranger points out to her some misapplied makeup and then starts chatting with her, Xinran realizes she can repeat this mistake in the future to create opportunities for other women to approach her. "I gradually learned how to use my own lack of knowledge to unlock the secrets of Chinese women," she writes.

With such keen sensitivity, it's no wonder women have poured out their life stories to this Chinese British journalist and radio broadcaster. Born in Beijing, Xinran grew up estranged from her parents during the Cultural Revolution and considers herself an orphan of sorts. She has the valued perspective of both insider and outsider - a native with first-hand experience of Chinese history and culture, as well as an observer pursuing deeper aspects of a culture suppressed for decades which can sometimes seem foreign even to her.

Xinran has authored several books based on oral history, including The Good Women of China and China Witness: Voices from a Silent Generation. Message from an Unknown Chinese Mother follows in the same vein, chronicling Xinran's encounters with the practice of killing or abandoning baby girls in China. The phenomenon results from a combination of China's one-child policy; sexual ignorance coupled with modern sexual liberation; and an ancient tradition stemming from rural cultures, in which males were not only more useful on the farm but were also qualified to receive grain rations and inherit the land and wealth.

As the book progresses we follow Xinran from the time of her initial exposure to this practice through a woman's letter, to her increasing involvement in the lives of these abandoned children and the mothers who are forever haunted by guilt and grief. At one point, Xinran even attempts to foster an orphan girl and is heartbroken when China's family planning officers force her to give the child over to the care of the state and Xinran is unable to trace her.

Each chapter reveals another aspect of this subculture. There are the "extra-birth guerilla troops" - nomadic parents who float from one place to another in order to avoid the scrutiny of government officials as they attempt, one baby after another, to give birth to a boy (in order to be able to return home with honor), often abandoning their unwanted girls along the way.

One of the most horrifying moments is when Xinran visits a mountainous area in Shandong province and has dinner at the house of the head of the village. The family's daughter-in-law happens to be in labor at that very moment, and, after a series of strange occurrences, Xinran realizes too late that there is a tiny foot sticking out of the pail beside her. Quelled by two policemen who had accompanied her to the home, Xinran is forced to keep silent.

Almost as astonishing is the matter-of-fact way the culture accepts these practices, including the women themselves. When, years later, Xinran meets the same daughter-in-law, she discovers that the woman had subsequently given birth to two more girls and "done" (the common euphemism for drowning baby girls at birth) them in the same way. She tells Xinran that her mother-in-law had someone else do her first girl for her but that she managed the next ones herself.

Message from an Unknown Chinese Mother is heart-wrenching and intense in its rawness. We hear the voices of women who will forever mourn the loss of their newborn girls. And we witness the author's admirable attempts to intervene in the lives of these women and children across the globe - both in immediate circumstances within China and through her work in making these stories known to the grieving mothers, their grown-up daughters, and interested readers across the globe.

Reviewed by Julie Wan

This review was originally published in March 2011, and has been updated for the March 2012 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Mothers' Bridge of Love

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.