Life After Death: Background information when reading The Returned

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Returned

by Jason Mott

The Returned by Jason Mott
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2013, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2014, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Life After Death

Print Review

In 2011 archeologists uncovered Neanderthal skeletons, dating back about 50,000 years, that appear to have been intentionally buried with the arms folded so the hands are close to the head. This evidence, which shows respect for the dead, has led some to extrapolate that the Neanderthals had a sense of an afterlife. Scientifically speaking, however, it is a stretch to make the case based on just this one piece of data. What we do know is that the early agricultural societies that started to develop from 10,000 BC tended to have organized religions, and around 2500 BC the Egyptians believed in an afterlife, but only for the Pharaoh. Within a couple of centuries the Egyptian nobels were included in the afterlife, and by 2100 BC belief in the possibility of an afterlife was extended to all Egyptian people.

Religions were developed in part to help adherents develop answers to the question about the afterlife within the bounds of their faith. Currently the world's major religions each teach that there is some form of life after death. Below is a very simplistic view of each; please bear in mind that each religion has developed very detailed and varied texts to expand on their view of the concept of the afterlife and those nuanced opinions are not included here.

Christians generally believe that places exist for the soul once it leaves the body, although they sometimes disagree about how many places there are and how one reaches them. Official Roman Catholic teaching, for example, is that immediately after death a preliminary judgment ("particular judgment") occurs during which the soul is sent to heaven (paradise), hell (torment) or purgatory (a temporary location in which souls are purified so they can obtain the perfection necessary to enter heaven) until the final judgment day. Most Protestant denominations believe similarly – that one is immediately transported into God's presence for judgment – with the exception that most do not believe in purgatory. However, some assert that those who die will simply sleep until the Second Coming of Christ, at which point their eternal fate will be determined.

Judaism's teachings on the afterlife are harder to codify. While most adherents believe that there is indeed life after death, the Torah is surprisingly silent on the matter, concentrating more on one's actions in the current world. Various teachings have arisen over the centuries, but opinions vary widely and there is no set doctrine about what happens to a Jew after he or she dies.

Muslims also believe that a Day of Judgment will come at which time God will decide the fate of each person's spirit according to his or her actions during their earthly existence, with all humanity destined for either Paradise or Hell. A person's final destination is determined by the balance of good to bad deeds performed during the course of their life. When a person dies, they remain in their graves awaiting resurrection. They immediately begin to sense, though, where their destiny lies; those who have done evil will suffer in their graves while those bound for Paradise will be at peace.

In contrast to Christianity and Islam, most Hindus don't believe in a heaven or hell. Instead, they believe that while one's body dies, one's soul continues on, being reborn in another body after the old one ceases to exist. This continuous cycle of life, death and reincarnation is only broken when a soul no longer suffers from the impurities of attachment, delusion and karma, and thereby achieves union with God Almighty. An individual's next life – whether he or she returns as a higher being or a lower one – depends on their deeds, state of mind at the time of death, the time of death, the activities of their children, and the grace of God.

Most Buddhists believe in rebirth while rejecting the existence of a soul, maintaining that there is no existence of an independent self that is apart from the rest of the universe. Rebirth is not the same as reincarnation; the latter is the belief that the soul enters a new physical body, while Buddhists instead believe that it is the energy created by life that continues on in a new form. Rebirth occurs in one of five "realms" (or six, depending on the school of thought): Devas; Asura, Hungry Ghosts, Hell, Animal, and Human. These realms are further divided into 31 separate plains of existence. Nirvana – freedom from rebirth – is achieved when a being is completely purified of desire, aversion and ignorance.

Article by Kim Kovacs

This article was originally published in September 2013, and has been updated for the March 2014 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.